Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is a recipe close to our hearts. We travel to Fripp Island SC every year for our family vacation and always go to The Steamer. This is one of their signature dishes. It is very good, even for people who don't think that they like seafood! Great taste and pretty simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSTSOUP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Maineville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2009
I made this for a family gathering in the Keys. This is simply amazing. I used the turkey fryer. I used 3 gallons of water, 2 beers, a cup of old bay, a whole lemon squeezed and then tossed in the pot, 2 large sweet onions quartered. It could not have been easier to feed the whole crew (18). I used 6 lbs of extra large easy peel shrimp, 4 lbs of kielbasa, 3 bags of green giant frozen extra sweet corn on the cob (the 1/2 ears), 4 lbs of quartered red skin potatoes. Then I made a huge bowl of "Super Al's Cocktail Sauce" using the recipe from this website. I loaded the pot as listed and used the same cooking times. Everything turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jupiter, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
AMAZING!!!! Healthy, delicious, fresh. YUM. Will make again and again and again... (next time with crab legs!) There were no leftovers :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This is absolutely delicious and fun! It's a really great summer entertaining dish to serve to friends and family. I make a few changes. I use a 1/2 cup of Old Bay per 8 quarts of water. Any more Old Bay and it gets spicy and overpowering. As I bring the water to a boil I also add 1 onion, quartered stem to root, some smashed garlic cloves, and 1 lemon, halved with the juice squeezed in and then the lemon halves tossed right in also. I use turkey kielbasa instead of sausage. I dish it up on a huge platter with lemon wedges, extra broth on the side, and crusty italian bread. Wonderful!!! Always a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
It was very good and fulfilling. I used one can of Budlight and added some extra Cajun Seasoning. Me and my friends had an awesome time kicking back and enjoying this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
I have been using this web site for years, and this is my very first "rating". This was awesome! I also added a little beer and lemon to the mix. My husband wants this at least once a month now. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This stuff is great! Ive been eating it for a few years now. my husband talked me into having it at our wedding. Great idea. There was plenty for everyone, and since it was an outdoor wedding we did it country style-on old newspaper on top of picnic tables-crazy I know, But the best time ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Great recipe, we never measure anything but add a couple onions and a couple lemons to the starting water and its always the hit of the party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tahuya, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
Everyone loved it. Had 8 people and had lots of leftovers. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2009
I've made this recipe several times and we always thoroughly enjoy it. If you're in the Columbus, OH area or have access to Schmidt's Bahama Mama sausage , it goes perfectly with this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 377) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States