Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
just like I remember from groing up in SC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is a great recipe it tastes just like I remembered it when I was a kid!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
We have been cooking this for years! This is one dish all my picky boys eat. We always use a bag of seasoning and a healthy dash of loose Old Bay seasoning as well. You can't put too much seasoning. We also add lemon juice and onions. Crab legs or "crawl dads" can also be added. There is a big problem with this recipe, though, and I was surprised no one else mentioned it. Add the shrimp (large, uncooked, deveined, with shell) at the end as the recipe suggests, but you have to remove the pot from the heat before adding the shrimp. Cover the pot after adding the shrimp and let the residual heat cook the shrimp. It only takes a couple of minutes...even off the heat. Boiling the shrimp for 5 min. would leave you with RUBBERY, TOUGH shrimp. Using precooked shrimp is also a bad idea...unless you like tough shrimp! Trust me...we've been there done that! When cooking this, always remember...1. Never too much Old Bay, and 2. Don't overcook the shrimp! The best sausage to use is Hillshire Farm pork smoked sausage! YUMMY! Nuthin's better than Southern cookin'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Sounds like a weird concoction but it sure tastes great! We serve it with a side of melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagemoon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Very good. Agree with all others. If your looking at this recipe, it a MUST try and a KEEPER, you will agree. I did add King Crab legs and some crushed garlic and small ears of frozen sweet corn on cob. Very good. Empty pot after day 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I did a test run with this recipe on my husband, I added crab legs, lemon and used turkey sausage. The leftovers where gone the next day! I can't wait to make this for a crowd. Easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Wow, I've made this recipe 3 times in the last 6 weeks and everyone loved it. It's just about the best, easiest, tastiest Summer boil you could ask for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This is an easy, delicious meal. With crusty bread, it is truly comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpioneermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2009
We loved it as is. Will definitely have this again. No butter or oil so if you go with turkey sausage it is a great healthy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
This is a recipe close to our hearts. We travel to Fripp Island SC every year for our family vacation and always go to The Steamer. This is one of their signature dishes. It is very good, even for people who don't think that they like seafood! Great taste and pretty simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MRSTSOUP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Maineville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 386) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Oyster Stew

See how to make a comforting, creamy, top-rated oyster stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States