Frogmore Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
Couldn't have been easier. I even grilled the sausage first, but am not sure it was necessary. I used too much Old Bay, and it came out a bit salty, but that's my fault. The flavor was fantastic, and with a touch of cayenne and spicy andouille sausage, there was a satisfying burn as well!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ssharp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
This was the most tasty colaboration of food my family has eaten. I thought it was crazy that the recipe called for unpeeled shrimp. Thinking it was an error I purchased unpeeled shrimp. Sitting at the table, picking up the pieces of corn made me realize that this meal wasn't a fork and knife dinner it was a fork, finger, family fun dinner!! Next time I will be using unpeeled shrimp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Marbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
just like I remember from groing up in SC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
This is a great recipe it tastes just like I remembered it when I was a kid!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
We have been cooking this for years! This is one dish all my picky boys eat. We always use a bag of seasoning and a healthy dash of loose Old Bay seasoning as well. You can't put too much seasoning. We also add lemon juice and onions. Crab legs or "crawl dads" can also be added. There is a big problem with this recipe, though, and I was surprised no one else mentioned it. Add the shrimp (large, uncooked, deveined, with shell) at the end as the recipe suggests, but you have to remove the pot from the heat before adding the shrimp. Cover the pot after adding the shrimp and let the residual heat cook the shrimp. It only takes a couple of minutes...even off the heat. Boiling the shrimp for 5 min. would leave you with RUBBERY, TOUGH shrimp. Using precooked shrimp is also a bad idea...unless you like tough shrimp! Trust me...we've been there done that! When cooking this, always remember...1. Never too much Old Bay, and 2. Don't overcook the shrimp! The best sausage to use is Hillshire Farm pork smoked sausage! YUMMY! Nuthin's better than Southern cookin'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Sounds like a weird concoction but it sure tastes great! We serve it with a side of melted butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagemoon

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: St. George, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
Very good. Agree with all others. If your looking at this recipe, it a MUST try and a KEEPER, you will agree. I did add King Crab legs and some crushed garlic and small ears of frozen sweet corn on cob. Very good. Empty pot after day 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
I did a test run with this recipe on my husband, I added crab legs, lemon and used turkey sausage. The leftovers where gone the next day! I can't wait to make this for a crowd. Easy to make too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
Wow, I've made this recipe 3 times in the last 6 weeks and everyone loved it. It's just about the best, easiest, tastiest Summer boil you could ask for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KarenP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This is an easy, delicious meal. With crusty bread, it is truly comfort food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetpioneermom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 388) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Frogmore Stew

See how to make a traditional South Carolina shrimp stew.

Get a Husband Brunswick Stew

See how to make a classic Southern stew with pork, beef, and chicken.

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States