Frog Eyed Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
How is this perfect for kids or anyone? As a treat, yes... but to pretend it's healthy is crazy. There is no fresh fruit, it's all syrup based canned. Then add sugar and fake whipped cream and white flour. Wow. It may be tasty, but treat it like a once in a while sugary dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I had made this in the past but lost the recipe. This is a great dessert but be warned that this recipe makes A LOT! I followed it exactly just used the colored marshmallows for Easter. Next time I'll only make 1/2 a recipe b/c that little bag of pasta is deceiving! It has a nice cool, light, fruity taste -perfect for a hot summer's day dessert. It looks a little different but if you convince people to try it, most love it! Make sure and serve it well chilled. Thanks for reminding me how good this is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
I used this recipe the first time I ever made frog-eyed salad. It was a hit at the bbq we went to. The next time we were invited back they requested that we bring this salad. It may have even been the reason we were invited ;)! Each time I made it I was not able to refrigerate for 8 hours for one reason or another. Both times I put the bowl in the freezer the morning of and stirred every 15 minutes until it was chilled through and not quite freezing to the side of the bowl. Then I refrigerated and added the rest of the ingredients right before we left for the bbq.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This is my favorite salad! It is so yummy; definitely a comfort food around our house. I've tried many different recipes and this one is my fav. I just wish there were a way to take out the eggs, though, because some people in my family are allergic to eggs. Anyway, appreciated the tidbit about being able to freeze it. I add a little cinnamon to mine and coconut; adds a little extra something to it. I also put vanilla in the "sauce."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
I'm so glad I found this recipe. My aunt used to make it and I loved it. It's a wonderful way to get in some Vitamin C, and a pretty healthy/low-fat desert. I used splenda instead of sugar and added bananas before serving. I think it'd be great with some apples tossed in too. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
Well to make it a bit more 'fresh' as a reader suggested, I myself dont like the canned fruit, so I used fresh fruit that was in season and did my own whip cream. To make it thick and to stick I used fresh OJ and heated it with cornstarch and water to make it thick. Recipes are a guidline and u can cahnge them often to your liking I do it all the time. Use a sugar subsitiute or just dont add it - its not that hard really. Only add things you like. I made this for St Patricks day and I colored it green (the whip cream is what I colored).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2002
Just Perfect For The Kids!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I was so glad to find this recipe, we always make frog eye salad for big holiday meals. Before, I always used the recipe on the back of a certain pasta, but my grocer discontinued carrying that brand. This recipe is even better anyway. As for the lady that complained about it not being healthy, there are some easy substitutions to make. Whole grain pasta, fresh fruit and Splenda, you can even use real whipped cream just before you serve it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This is delicious. I don't know how anyone could think otherwise!! I brought this to a potluck this afternoon and everyone asked for the recipe. :) Mmm, Mmm, good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
My mom made this all the time growing up in Kansas (big hit with everyone I knew in KANSAS). My husband and I moved to Virginia and I made it at a potluck at work and nearly everyone hated it to a point they told me that pasta and fruit shouldn't be mixed together. I was given the hardest time for months. Definitly not an east coast thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Tortellini Bacon Broccoli Salad

This creamy pasta salad is the perfect side for picnics, potlucks, and BBQs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States