Frog Eyed Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2009
Since introducing this salad to my friends and family I always get assigned to bring this to almost every reunion and barbecue! I omit the cherries and use the fruity flavored marshmallows to make it fun for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skyler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I skipped a step and used instant pudding and substituted a 20 oz. can of crushed pineapple for the juice. I left the cherries out as I never put cherries in this recipe. My sister uses green grapes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat's Recipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburg, Kansas, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I had made this in the past but lost the recipe. This is a great dessert but be warned that this recipe makes A LOT! I followed it exactly just used the colored marshmallows for Easter. Next time I'll only make 1/2 a recipe b/c that little bag of pasta is deceiving! It has a nice cool, light, fruity taste -perfect for a hot summer's day dessert. It looks a little different but if you convince people to try it, most love it! Make sure and serve it well chilled. Thanks for reminding me how good this is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I altered it a bit - removed the cherries and marshmellows and up'd the quantity of oranges and pineapple. It was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snohomish, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
I was so glad to find this recipe, we always make frog eye salad for big holiday meals. Before, I always used the recipe on the back of a certain pasta, but my grocer discontinued carrying that brand. This recipe is even better anyway. As for the lady that complained about it not being healthy, there are some easy substitutions to make. Whole grain pasta, fresh fruit and Splenda, you can even use real whipped cream just before you serve it. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
This is delicious. I don't know how anyone could think otherwise!! I brought this to a potluck this afternoon and everyone asked for the recipe. :) Mmm, Mmm, good. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2007
Great salad for a Potluck or BBQ!! Easy to make and tastes great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2007
This is my favorite salad! It is so yummy; definitely a comfort food around our house. I've tried many different recipes and this one is my fav. I just wish there were a way to take out the eggs, though, because some people in my family are allergic to eggs. Anyway, appreciated the tidbit about being able to freeze it. I add a little cinnamon to mine and coconut; adds a little extra something to it. I also put vanilla in the "sauce."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
How is this perfect for kids or anyone? As a treat, yes... but to pretend it's healthy is crazy. There is no fresh fruit, it's all syrup based canned. Then add sugar and fake whipped cream and white flour. Wow. It may be tasty, but treat it like a once in a while sugary dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
I used this recipe the first time I ever made frog-eyed salad. It was a hit at the bbq we went to. The next time we were invited back they requested that we bring this salad. It may have even been the reason we were invited ;)! Each time I made it I was not able to refrigerate for 8 hours for one reason or another. Both times I put the bowl in the freezer the morning of and stirred every 15 minutes until it was chilled through and not quite freezing to the side of the bowl. Then I refrigerated and added the rest of the ingredients right before we left for the bbq.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Orzo and Shrimp Salad with Asparagus

This easy salad is bright with flavor and can be a side or entrée.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States