Frog Eye Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I've made Frog Eye Salad for 20 years and I always get requests for this recipe. It's always fun to see someone else's version. I would not put coconut in anything, but that's me. Might I make a suggestion. I always do this in two steps. Make the pasta and the egg mixture first. Put it together and refrigerate it overnight. In the meantime dump all your fruits together in a bowl and put them in the fridge as well. The next day, just before serving, dump your fruit in and stir, and then add your cool whip. Keeps everything firm without melting down. I have also always used the colored minature marshmallows, it just gives the salad a more fruity flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
324 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMKLEIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
I LOVE this salad. Though, to make it easier I took out the first 7 ingredients and skipped the first step, and just made vanilla instant pudding. A lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
290 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHOP GIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2002
This is a wonderful recipe. However it is very addictive. Children like it as long as you use a different name and omit the coconut. The only change I make is, I boil the pasta in pineapple juice, this helps with the blandness of the pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
191 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2003
I've always considered Cool Whip disgusting and never used it in anything and always avoid it but since my husband loves it, I made this for him and to my surprise, I actually love it and find myself making it often. I find that it has a much better texture if you make sure that the pasta, fruit and egg mixture are VERY cold before adding the whipped topping. I usually put the bowl of it in the freezer for half an hour to chill it before adding the CW. I also don't thaw the CW. Makes a great difference. I also find that it tastes better with a little less than the full cup of coconut. Don't let a dislike of non dairy topping prevent you from trying this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
I have made this recipe numerous times (minus the coconut). I use a 12oz. carton of "lite" whipped topping, and also use the drained juice from the pineapple to avoid having to buy it. This recipe does make a lot so I usually cut it in half, although it is so yummy that a whole batch would get eaten in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2001
This recipe has all the pieces of being a great summer fruit salad... I marinated the pasta in the cooked mixture overnight because I made part of a day in advance, so the pasta swelled even more so! I also added blueberries, grapes and sliced bananas(just before serving). If you can find them, use the pastel colored marshmallows for added color. What a success!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2002
Watch out this makes a large amount. I think it serves about 20 or more. My husband and I have five children so I usually cook large amounts or double most recipes, but this recipe lasted for days. Either cut in half for a regular family size or use as directed for picnics or family gatherings. But it is GREAT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie Harlan

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Timonium, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2002
This is one of my favorite salads. The only negative thing I can say is that I can't stop eating it and I make myself sick on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KYLEEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
Excellent dessert. I added cherries to the top and served twenty people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2002
Maybe I did something wrong, but this was absolutely awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States