Frog Eye Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by 5boys2cook4
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
I love this stuff! This is almost the same recipe that I've made for years. The only differences are that mine calls for 1/2 pkg of pasta to the amount of sauce shown here. So, If following this recipe, I would double the sauce. Also I never add this much fruit. I prefer it with less. I use 2 cans of mandarin oranges and one large can of pineapple tidbits. I drain the juice from these and use it for the sauce. Sometimes I skip the marshmallows, It's plenty sweet without.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5boys2cook4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
My oldest daughter and myself liked this but the remainder of the family (4 more) did not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
This is one of my favorite salad recipes and I am always asked for the recipe when I take it to a potluck. I would recommend that you marinate the pasta in the cooked mixture overnight before mixing w/ the other ingredients. I feel this gives the salad a much better flavor. I also added about 1 cup of pecans to the recipe and mixed in the marshmallows right before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
My family loves this salad! I did omit the marshmallows and the coconut; the salad is sweet enough without those additions! The ingredients may sound strange, but this is a very tasty recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
A family favorite I make a couple times a year. As others have said I also leave out the coconut and use colored marshmallows. I did need to make a note on my print out so I wouldn't mindlessly dump all the salt into the custard mix and instead divide it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovely Rita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
How could you go wrong---simply delicious-----took to a church dinner----HUGE HIT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
Frog eye salad is always a favorite for the holidays! But it's not a fresh green healthy salad; it's a dessert. I use organic sugar, fruit canned in their own juice,pear juice and water and light whipped topping. I used to always use whipping cream and whip it myself but I tend to go the easy way sometimes and use cool whip. I don't use the coconut, my DH doesn't like it. But what a great dessert!There are ways to make anything a little better on the calorie intake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
First, it's not fair to give a low rating and then say "I didn't follow the recipe". Second, I've been looking for this recipe for a long time and couldn't find it because I always thought it was tapioca beads in the salad, didn't know it was pasta! Thanks for sharing, can't wait to serve it at the halloween party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
I gave this 3 stars b/c the flavor was great. It was the texture that was disgusting. The pasta ruins the recipe & I wonder if omitting it would leave an awesome fruit salad. I know it's supposed to be "frog eyes", but the pasta was bland & did nothing but take away from the great taste of the salad. I definitely recommend NOT substituting vanilla pudding for the cook portion of this recipe, b/c it is awesome! Maybe next time, I will make it without the nasty pasta (and I'm a pasta lover!) b/c like I said, the flavor was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Tasted like canned, overprocessed, too much sugar, 1970s food. Not a hit at all. However my husband liked it so I'll give it two stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States