Frog Eye Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 8, 2010
One of our family's classics. A great go-to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
This salad is so good- it tastes exactly how my aunt's used to. It is definitely a dessert but if you are concerned about sugar content, etc there are things you can do to make it better. I do not use fruit cocktail, but I will often add lots of extra, fresh fruit: strawberries, grapes, apples, etc. I find that it doesn't really take away from the taste of the original recipe, and I like the variety. Definitely a fun summer treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
I used the reccomendation to add coconut and mini marshmellows and it was excellent!! A family member makes this with vanilla pudding, but I have yet to try it that way...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
This is super, minus the coconut and marshmallows (my family doesn't like either in it, nor do I). I've made this for years and prefer this recipe to the one with pudding. As others state (and the original recipe calls for) making it in 2 steps and refrigerating overnight. In fact, I made some for last night for Easter. This is my favorite pasta salad....I just have to watch how much I eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Perfect my family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2010
Made this for Thanksgiving 2009, and it was DELICIOUS!! Everyone raved about it - thanks so much for posting, it's hard to find a good frog eye salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana71

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
This is OK but not rave review material in my book. The fruit salads that use cottage cheese in place of the noodles have much more flavor. Made it, ate it, but won't bother to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deathbycanon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
I love this dessert. I always use fruit cocktail in mine. Keeps it interesting, rather than just getting bits of pineapple or orange. I know this recipe makes a LOT but to me, it's just the right amount. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
I really love this salad. It is a "fun food". However I don't put cherries in it or coconut. However I do add dried cranberries. That is very good. Next time I am going to add or change to some different fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
This makes a huge salad. Waited to add Marshmellows, coconut, and whipped cream until a couple hours before serving. DO NOT wait any longer. This salad does not taste its best until it has sat for a couple hours with all ingredients in it. We tasted right after adding the last 3 ingredients and I was worried - it was not good at all. Took it to a party that night anyway and got RAVE reviews over it. I increased the mini-mellows to 2 cups, but should probably have 3 cups. 1 cup is way too sparce for this recipe. If I am only going to serve to family, I will 1/2 the recipe next time. Yum, Yum, Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States