Frog Eye Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Best thing I eat at Thanksgiving hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hammond, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I love frog-eye salad, and this recipe made me love it even more! I made this for a family BBQ, and everyone loved it! I followed some of the recommendations to reduce the sugar (I only used 1/2 cup). I also added some maraschino cherries, and added more marshmallows because there a lot of kids at the BBQ. The only thing I would be aware of is to make use the eggs are beaten very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I love this. Make it every summer, but I cut the sugar in half and substitute at least half grapefruit juice for the pineapple. Usually, no marshmallows or coconut and fat free CW. That way it's even good for breakfast and no guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Great recipe! I did as another reviewer and skipped the first 8 ingredients and used vanilla pudding mix instead. Worked great! It fed 30 people easily at a bbq as a side dish. I couldn't find the acini de pepe pasta at my Wal-mart so I used the kind that looks like rice, it worked good, looked weird, but tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLEMCCLURE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
The only change to the ingredients... Sounds bad but my husband puts small bits of cream cheese. I love it with or without the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Very good, minus the coconut and marshmallows which is just makes it too busy for my personal taste. FYI, this is a pretty large batch. By the time the pasta cooks and absorbs all the sauce I would say its 4 to 5 times the size of the box without the fruit and stuff added. Feeds closer to 25 than 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
YUUUMM-MY! I sub'ed peaches as friend that was eating this is allergic to pineapple but oh so good!! Will keep this one around for a long time. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
I loved it! I halved the recipe and it still made a huge big bowl for the BBQ. I used vanilla instant pudding instead of making it from scratch. I did make my own whipped cream.. I hate the fake stuff. I also left out the coconut and marshmallows that's just too sweet for me. Everybody loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Marrott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
Only a few people in my family like this dish, BUT....if you separate it into multiple small containers, you can freeze it and only take out the amount you want to eat. It is a GREAT idea and it still takes GREAT after freezing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I make this pretty often because I LOVE it!! I always do a half batch because a full batch makes a LOTTT. Also, I know I will eat most of it myself so it's better if I don't have 2 huge bowls of it in my fridge. I use the recipe exactly and don't leave anything out (especially the coconut!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States