Frog Eye Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
So delicious and refreshing!! I skipped the Coconut and added half a bag of Craisins. I would also add more like a half bag of mini marshmallows and use closer to 12 oz of Cool Whip. Next time I will be using 1/2 cup of halved Marachino Cherries as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
This is a wonderful salad. Found it when looking for wedding soup pasta. I had to make some changes as we have severe food allergies in our family. Used mango juice for the pineapple, and coconut juice instead of lemon. Instead of sugar used stevia. Since my son can't have citrus fruit, I used fresh necterine, peaches, blueberries, pear,and mango. It came out wonderful. And since I ommited the corn syrup it was truely healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2012
I made this for my husband and daughters' and they loved it!! I just added cherries to it!!! Was delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Yummy! Yummy! Yummy! Each time I make this salad, it's eaten right up! The taste is wonderful. I will occasionally leave out the marshmallows if I don't have any on hand, and will also usually leave out the coconut, because not everyone likes it. You can't tell a difference either way. The salad is still wonderful with or without those 2 ingredients. Follow recipe exactly to the "t", and you won't go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUIW

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This recipe is almost perfect. You need to add 2/3 more sauce though to get the full flavor. Make double the sauce then add by spoonful to reach desired creaminess. Never in my family tradition did we ever add marshmallows or coconut and I just don't think they fit. Otherwise, it's totally perfect and addictive. We've been eating it by the gallon at holidays for over 30 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DenaBean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
A delicious snack for any MMJ patient or other person needing delicious snack... A few years back I googled this recipe as an infusion specialist..it led me to Allrecipes.com for the first time...and fate it was as I use the site alot...not only delicious but how random for My Auntie to be one of the first reviewers...So i trusted the recipe for sure...and its so easy to make...left out the coconut...not a fan unless its toasted...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danroghen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
LOVE LOVE LOVE this! I follow it to a "T" only omitting the coconut and marshmallows. Highly recommend to EVERYONE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gogs630

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huron, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I love this dessert. My family has been making it for years in Minnesota. When I first volunteered to make this for a club cookout, NO ONE was interested. Now I am told that I HAVE to make it for every cookout we have at the club. You can really throw people off if you tell them you could make PePe Salad instead. LOL!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Best thing I eat at Thanksgiving hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hammond, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I love frog-eye salad, and this recipe made me love it even more! I made this for a family BBQ, and everyone loved it! I followed some of the recommendations to reduce the sugar (I only used 1/2 cup). I also added some maraschino cherries, and added more marshmallows because there a lot of kids at the BBQ. The only thing I would be aware of is to make use the eggs are beaten very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States