Frog Eye Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
This recipe is almost perfect. You need to add 2/3 more sauce though to get the full flavor. Make double the sauce then add by spoonful to reach desired creaminess. Never in my family tradition did we ever add marshmallows or coconut and I just don't think they fit. Otherwise, it's totally perfect and addictive. We've been eating it by the gallon at holidays for over 30 years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DenaBean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
A delicious snack for any MMJ patient or other person needing delicious snack... A few years back I googled this recipe as an infusion specialist..it led me to Allrecipes.com for the first time...and fate it was as I use the site alot...not only delicious but how random for My Auntie to be one of the first reviewers...So i trusted the recipe for sure...and its so easy to make...left out the coconut...not a fan unless its toasted...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danroghen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pierre, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2011
LOVE LOVE LOVE this! I follow it to a "T" only omitting the coconut and marshmallows. Highly recommend to EVERYONE!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gogs630

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huron, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
I love this dessert. My family has been making it for years in Minnesota. When I first volunteered to make this for a club cookout, NO ONE was interested. Now I am told that I HAVE to make it for every cookout we have at the club. You can really throw people off if you tell them you could make PePe Salad instead. LOL!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Best thing I eat at Thanksgiving hehe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meridian, Idaho, USA
Living In: Hammond, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
I love frog-eye salad, and this recipe made me love it even more! I made this for a family BBQ, and everyone loved it! I followed some of the recommendations to reduce the sugar (I only used 1/2 cup). I also added some maraschino cherries, and added more marshmallows because there a lot of kids at the BBQ. The only thing I would be aware of is to make use the eggs are beaten very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
I love this. Make it every summer, but I cut the sugar in half and substitute at least half grapefruit juice for the pineapple. Usually, no marshmallows or coconut and fat free CW. That way it's even good for breakfast and no guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
Great recipe! I did as another reviewer and skipped the first 8 ingredients and used vanilla pudding mix instead. Worked great! It fed 30 people easily at a bbq as a side dish. I couldn't find the acini de pepe pasta at my Wal-mart so I used the kind that looks like rice, it worked good, looked weird, but tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLEMCCLURE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
The only change to the ingredients... Sounds bad but my husband puts small bits of cream cheese. I love it with or without the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
Very good, minus the coconut and marshmallows which is just makes it too busy for my personal taste. FYI, this is a pretty large batch. By the time the pasta cooks and absorbs all the sauce I would say its 4 to 5 times the size of the box without the fruit and stuff added. Feeds closer to 25 than 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States