Frog Eye Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
Not many dishes all my siblings agree on and most of our kids as well. My grandma has always made this dish but with slight variations...more like 2-3 cups marshmallows, no coconuts...only mix pasta and mixture overnight and mix the rest the next day. It's perfect the way it is and I don't see myself trying some of the other suggestion. Be careful when following the instructions with the salt. Me and my niece made that mistake :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This recipe was easy to follow, with reasonably inexpensive ingredients. I definitely would cut the salt back-at least by half, and not salt the water at all when cooking acini di pepe. The saltiness takes away from the sweet, and I prefer the sweet flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
Really loved this salad. Had never had it until coming to Utah. I used light cool whip and it came out great. Serves more like 20+ in my opinion. Sweet and refreshing salad or dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Layton, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
delicious! I think I'm satisfied for another year or so now that I've had it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2013
This recipe is exactly like a "24 Hour Fruit-Salad" recipe that my family has made for at least 3 generations, at all holiday meals !!! The only difference is the addition of pasta, and the sub. of whipped heavy cream for the Cool Whip. This is loved by everyone that tries it, I have never seen a different reaction in 35 yrs. of making the recipe. One Easter I didn't make it and the family rebelled, so I never made that mistake again. This salad HAS to be in the fridge at least 24 hours for the flavors to develop ! As far as the suggestions by others to substitute vanilla pudding for the cooked egg,this would cause the loss of the best part of the dish ! Also, if you leave out the marshmallows, you lose the lightness and fluffiness of the dish. Coconut also caused the texture to change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Love this! my family begs me to make it often! I don't change a thing! Perfect just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo
Home Town: Cottonwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
I made this last weekend for my family. They really liked it but it made soooo much. I have a family of 7 so I figured there wouldn't be much left since it says serves 8-12. This could have easily fed 20 so next time I'll cut the recipe in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Our family has made this for several years, we omit the coconut and marshmallows and love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
I think this is the original recipe that used to appear on the box of Creamettes Acini Di Pepe pasta. It makes a boatload of salad and takes time to prepare (there are quite a few steps to do it right), but I've never had anyone turn their nose up on it. You can also freeze it, but the texture is different. I've even made it with quinoa instead of Acini Di Pepe. That freezes better. I've taken it to outdoor potlucks with crushed ice around the bowl. It also makes a good side dish with Christmas ham. Pineapple and ham were made for each other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
This is an all-time holiday favorite of my family. Only problem is, when my kids were young they wouldn't touch it because of what it was called! This recipe is one of those that's easy to make your own by putting as much or as little of the ingredients in it to make people happy. Don't like oranges? Leave them out and put in more pineapple. The sauce is very important so keep the basic idea and quantity so the salad isn't dry. I'm going to try it today using OJ concentrate though. We'll see what happens!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by farmer'swife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Canyon Lake, Texas, USA
Living In: Stratton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States