Frog Eye Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
This feed more than 12 servings, so be careful. There was a ton of pasta and it wasnt was I was used to. Usually it has more coolwhip and about a 1/3 of the pasta. The flavor was good but not as good as the ones I've had in the past. I did omit the coconut and it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
***per the reviewers question about the salt-note-egg mixture only calls for 1/2 tsp-other 2 tbs is to boil with your pasta.As for my own review-I did this in 2 steps as one reviewer suggested...used colored marshmallows,vanilla cool whip,and used the pineapple juice from my drained fruit...AND MARASCINO CHERRIRES ARE A MUST!!!!fabulous-difinately will be havin this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2005
Fantastic kid pleasing recipe - we liked it too. A great foil to spicy foods - Mexican, BBQ, etc. I used canned tropical fruit and chopped marachino cherries instead of pineapple and the juice from both instead of the pineapple juice. Vanilla Cool Whip was delicious - and I am not a Cool Whip fan. Left out the coconut and added fruity mini marshmallows as one reviewer suggested. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2005
My children loved this, but my husband and I were both reminded of every pot luck we ever attended. If you want something sweet that you don't have to chew- this is for you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELFINDANCER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2005
This is awesome and even better the second day (if there is any left). I did not add the coconut and next time I will use crushed pineapple in place of the tidbits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I've made Frog Eye Salad for 20 years and I always get requests for this recipe. It's always fun to see someone else's version. I would not put coconut in anything, but that's me. Might I make a suggestion. I always do this in two steps. Make the pasta and the egg mixture first. Put it together and refrigerate it overnight. In the meantime dump all your fruits together in a bowl and put them in the fridge as well. The next day, just before serving, dump your fruit in and stir, and then add your cool whip. Keeps everything firm without melting down. I have also always used the colored minature marshmallows, it just gives the salad a more fruity flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
337 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JMKLEIN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I have made Frog-Eye many times and was looking for a variation to try and noted 2 1/2 tsps. salt. Is this right? All others only call for 1/2 tsp. for the same recipes. I also add a tblspn. of orange zest to give a little zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2004
Mmmmmmm, very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Pleasant Grove, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2004
Loved this recipe! Like many cookers have said...this recipe makes a nice huge batch! Definately cut in half for family of 6. I took some advice from some other cookers and made sure that the mixture was well cooled before adding cool whip. I also did not add coconut--will try another time! Thanks for a wonderful, fun recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2003
Love this salad! It was always the salad my mother-in-law made for holidays and I thought it was lost. Thanks for saving Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States