Frog Eye Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
This is a great recipe, but omit the coconut- many people don't like it and this recipe makes a ton! (You can cut it in half.) Absolutely do NOT replace the cooked dressing with vanilla pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I made this recipe exactly as written. Unless you are making it as an entree for a group of hungry giants, it actually makes closer to 30 servings, not 11 as stated! I gave it the allotted time to sit but I recommend making this 2 days in advance because it was just OK the day of my event but it's really very good 2 days afterward. It got mixed reviews at the cookout. My kids didn't like it. I think the name turned a lot of people off, and I came up with "Hawaiian Pearl Salad" for the next time I make it. Additionally, next time I will forego the Cool Whip, which added nothing to the taste, and I will make a double-batch of the dressing, which is very good, and maybe a touch of coconut cream. I sprinkled toasted pecans on top of the leftovers and they were a great addition -- added some needed extra texture and a color contrast. All in all this is good as written, but can very easily be brought to excellent with a few easy improvements.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
This is a great salad--we've been making it for several years. My husband requests this for all his birthdays, and any time we're asked to bring a salad, he pipes up with a hopeful, "Frog Eye Salad?" We have always done the basic pineapple and mandarin orange addition, but marshmallows and coconut are also a fun treat. I personally prefer it without coconut, even though I like coconut, because it ruins the texture for me. We like to add colored marshmallows for an even yummier effect, and I really like this salad with fresh seasonal fruit, too, like strawberries, peaches, grapes, oranges, apples, and so on. Other people I know love kiwi and strawberries in it. Be creative; it's a fun alternative to a regular fruit salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
Made this for a graduation party, the box didn't have the recipe like it used to so came to this trustworthy site and used your recipe minus coconut, only because don't care for it. This was a hit. Actually more liked then the one I usually made from the box. So thanks for the help!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Jesup, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
I made a huge salad, chilled the bowl and everything. It was a great big hit!! I hide some in the bottom corner of the frig, my husband and I got up in the middle of the night to have a treat of our own!! Its even better if it sits in the frig for a day or 2!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmette, Illinois, USA
Living In: Valparaiso, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
Delicious fruit salad like my mom used to make. I used lite whipped topping and omitted the coconut. I used canned peaches instead of oranges and sliced fresh peaches on top before serving - I also added some cinnimon, fabulous with the peaches. This makes a huge amount of salad, but everyone (7 adults) loved it and it was gone by the next day. Thanks for the recipe, Judy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Momi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Adak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
This recipe is great, it does make a huge amount though. I had one problem last time I made it. I went to three different stores and they didn't have the right pasta, so I used Ditalini, which worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stokesdale, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
excellent recipie... the only thing i do is instead of coconut... simply because im allergic and add walnuts to it... It is incredible i strongly recommend it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I love this salad!! In an effort to lighten it up i drained the juice from the pineapple and added a splash orange juice and combined it with 1 cup splenda, I completely left the eggs out, I achieved the same excellent results!! I also did it in 2 steps, the next morning i added fat free cool whip, only a handful of marshmellows, and about 1/2 cup coconut...achieved great taste, the family loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Murray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Excellent dish and deceptively good! I have a lot of people close to me who are worried about the carbs and sugar and fat, but can't turn this dish down. I substituted a cup of Equal Spoonful for the sugar and Cool Whip Free for the whipped topping. Guilty pleasure with no guilt...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States