Frog Eye Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: May 26, 2007
This recipe is great, it does make a huge amount though. I had one problem last time I made it. I went to three different stores and they didn't have the right pasta, so I used Ditalini, which worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stokesdale, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
excellent recipie... the only thing i do is instead of coconut... simply because im allergic and add walnuts to it... It is incredible i strongly recommend it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2007
I love this salad!! In an effort to lighten it up i drained the juice from the pineapple and added a splash orange juice and combined it with 1 cup splenda, I completely left the eggs out, I achieved the same excellent results!! I also did it in 2 steps, the next morning i added fat free cool whip, only a handful of marshmellows, and about 1/2 cup coconut...achieved great taste, the family loves it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara Murray

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2007
Excellent dish and deceptively good! I have a lot of people close to me who are worried about the carbs and sugar and fat, but can't turn this dish down. I substituted a cup of Equal Spoonful for the sugar and Cool Whip Free for the whipped topping. Guilty pleasure with no guilt...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
I have the same recipe, directions are a little different though. After combining egg mixture adn Acini de Pepe, mix lightly but throughly. Refrigerate overnight in a tightly sealted airtight container. Following day, add remaining ingredients. My kids love leftovers for breakfast. Since it does make a large amount, you may freeze leftovers indefinately, still tastes great, but the texture may change.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I had this years ago and this recipe makes it just as I remembered it. It was fun to make, too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
I remembered this frog eye salad from my childhood and have always looked for the recipie. I tried this one and it was out of this world!! I added cherries and did it using all the steps (not using pudding). Draining the pineapple gave me exactly enough juice for the recipie, so I wouldnt buy extra.I also chilled the fruit seperately from the pasta/custard mixture overnight.This does make a lot, a good size mixing bowl full. It was great for the size crowd we had. Thanks so much for this recipie and I will continue to make it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
The Frog Eye Salad was a big hit with everyone over 40. The under 40s didn't enjoy it very much and generally weren't impressed. I would suggest making this when you have an older crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Derry, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
My mother always made this as I was growing up, I keep asking her for the recipe and every time she gives it to me it somehow gets misplaced. I'm so happy to have found it again so I can quit bugging her. This was and still is a big hit at parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2006
YUM, YUM, YUM! It definitely makes a ton and I doubled the recipe for a group of 40 people. It hardly made a dent in the salad considering that it made so much! The kids thought the Marascino cherries were the frog eyes! Definitely try it with vanilla cool whip for an extra kick of flavor or mix in some vanilla pudding mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Enid, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Black Lemon Chicken Salad

Here’s a simple roast chicken dish that’s bursting with flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States