Frog Eye Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This was an interesting salad. I gave it three stars because it wasn't horrible but, it wasn't as great as everyone here claimed it to be either. It was okay but, I don't think I'll make it again. It made way too much and I had to toss most of it away even though I did make it for a big get together most people looked at it weird and walked past it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
My mother would make this for weddings and double it and sometimes not enough. also added cherries and chopped nuts also. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Hood Coyle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Very good salad that feeds ALOT of people. Just recently my husband had a pot luck at his place of employment, we made 2 batches of this salad, costing $23.66 to make.. considering how many people it feeds, I am VERY HAPPY plus the salad is DELICOUS! We have been making this recipe for YEARS, it's a KEEPER! I mix my pasta with the sauce mixture only overnite, then after it's refrigerated for 12 hours + I add my fruit and a 16 oz. container of cool whip. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Flavor was wonderful, texture, not so much. I loved the taste but I just couldn't get past the weird texture of the pasta. I wonder if there is another kind of pasta I could try with it? Also, using the ingredient measurements as stated makes a HUGE batch, way too much, even for our large camping group! I ended up only needing half. Again, loved the taste, disliked the "frog eyed" texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I did make this for the Graduation party and said I would rate/review again with what the guests had to say. Outstanding, and luckily I had printed several copies of the recipes for everyone who asked. I gave out around 60 recipes for this delicious salad. thanks. I did use mini marshmellows and I think that is what sold skeptics into trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I also omit the coconut. It makes a large batch and is best when prepared the day before. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Just like my mom-in-laws. My husband devours this salad every Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This is always a hit when I take it to family dinners. I followed the advice of one reviewer and kept the pasta mixture and the fruit mixtures separate until closer to serving time. I find that the fruit mixture gets runny after setting in the fridge overnight so I drain some of the juice out of it before I add the pasta/egg mixture. We LOVE this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
What a great recipe! I had this for the first time on Thanksgiving. I zipped over to Allrecipes to see if I could find a similar recipe and here was this one! It tastes identical to the one I had and loved on Thanksgiving. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akfilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maron Di Brugnera, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Skip the first 8 ingredients and just make vanilla or pistachio pudding from the box...add the pasta, fruits, and whip cream. Yummy and the kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States