Frog Eye Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
This was an interesting salad. I gave it three stars because it wasn't horrible but, it wasn't as great as everyone here claimed it to be either. It was okay but, I don't think I'll make it again. It made way too much and I had to toss most of it away even though I did make it for a big get together most people looked at it weird and walked past it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Safford

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
My mother would make this for weddings and double it and sometimes not enough. also added cherries and chopped nuts also. thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Hood Coyle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
Very good salad that feeds ALOT of people. Just recently my husband had a pot luck at his place of employment, we made 2 batches of this salad, costing $23.66 to make.. considering how many people it feeds, I am VERY HAPPY plus the salad is DELICOUS! We have been making this recipe for YEARS, it's a KEEPER! I mix my pasta with the sauce mixture only overnite, then after it's refrigerated for 12 hours + I add my fruit and a 16 oz. container of cool whip. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Turton, South Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Flavor was wonderful, texture, not so much. I loved the taste but I just couldn't get past the weird texture of the pasta. I wonder if there is another kind of pasta I could try with it? Also, using the ingredient measurements as stated makes a HUGE batch, way too much, even for our large camping group! I ended up only needing half. Again, loved the taste, disliked the "frog eyed" texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I did make this for the Graduation party and said I would rate/review again with what the guests had to say. Outstanding, and luckily I had printed several copies of the recipes for everyone who asked. I gave out around 60 recipes for this delicious salad. thanks. I did use mini marshmellows and I think that is what sold skeptics into trying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2008
I also omit the coconut. It makes a large batch and is best when prepared the day before. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
Just like my mom-in-laws. My husband devours this salad every Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This is always a hit when I take it to family dinners. I followed the advice of one reviewer and kept the pasta mixture and the fruit mixtures separate until closer to serving time. I find that the fruit mixture gets runny after setting in the fridge overnight so I drain some of the juice out of it before I add the pasta/egg mixture. We LOVE this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
What a great recipe! I had this for the first time on Thanksgiving. I zipped over to Allrecipes to see if I could find a similar recipe and here was this one! It tastes identical to the one I had and loved on Thanksgiving. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by akfilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Maron Di Brugnera, Friuli-Venezia Giulia, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
Skip the first 8 ingredients and just make vanilla or pistachio pudding from the box...add the pasta, fruits, and whip cream. Yummy and the kids love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States