Frog Eye Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Loved it so much now shared with the whole family. Every occasion we have frog eye salad now thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alejandra

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2015
This recipe has been in our family for over 40 years. I have changed it over the years by using a large cook and serve vanilla pudding and making it with the mandarin orange juice. I also use a carton of "lite" whipped topping. This recipe does make a lot, it doesn't freeze well. It's so yummy that a whole batch gets eaten in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2014
This salad is wonderful. The key to making it great is to let the pasta soak in the lemon sauce overnight. The next day add all of the other ingredients. My sister asks me to make this every year. It's really different. I make it instead of a traditional fruit salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Wilburn Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by zygomatic
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I used coconut sugar instead of white sugar. And left out the whip cream and marshmallows. Our family and friends loved it! This has been a holiday traditional meal for years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
I've made frog eye salad for 3 years now and each time I just add variations... this year I could not fine anci de pepe pasta anywhere and so buying the smallest pasta you CAN find will do... I used orzo.. only because I don't care for the taste couscous gives it... I've never added egg to mine because it makes me nervous, I've always assumed egg is only to add color? to which in place of I use non cooked vanilla pudding packet! I took out the first 7 ingredients of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIzzBakerReyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Too much salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica Reta

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is my go to recipe for my favorite salad! I follow the recipe completely, except I do not add coconut. This does make a lot so I would suggest cutting it in half if you don't plan on serving 20 people. It does stay in the fridge for a few days, but gets runny after about 3 days. I would suggest everyone try this recipe at least once in their life!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayce Olson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I don't care for marshmallows or for coconut, so I left those two ingredients out, and this was still good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2014
My mom always made this recipe when I was a kid and everybody always asked her for the recipe. I made this for a friend's cookout recently and it was such a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashleigh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Port Huron, Michigan, USA
Living In: Robbins, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
This is the best frog eye salad recipe I've found. Adding a 1/2 cup (or more to taste), of dried cranberries gives the salad color and tanginess to offset the sweetness; everyone loves it. I use Craisins by Ocean Spray which are dried cranberries with a little added sugar, not too sweet and very tangy. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 155) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Garden Pasta Salad

Watch how to make a spiral pasta salad with garden fresh veggies.

Mandarin Chicken Pasta Salad

See how to make a healthy Asian-inspired pasta salad with chicken.

Pasta Salad with Avocado and Tomato

See how to make a fresh pasta salad with avocadoes, tomato, and mozzarella.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States