Frijoles III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2004
Nice but much better to soak the beans first (overnight), rinse then cook...add the Onion, Cilantro and pepper at the end of the cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
This recipe is good but I would leave out the jalapenos. I did add a little bit of cooked chorizo to give it a different flavor. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, California, USA
Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
Just a very good bean dish. if you like beans try it its really worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caney, Kansas, USA
Living In: Mountain View, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
mexican frijoles are far simpler, just cook with onion, garlic, epazote (wormsweed or jesuits tea). It is better to let them soak overnight, as it saves time and money. The beans should be black, not pinto, and very very well cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Not at all a fan of these. That seemed to be the consensus of the house as well...perhaps just not to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
My sister made almost the exact same thing after coming back from a summer internship living with a Mexican family. She didn't add the lard, but maybe put butter in, instead. I've made the same thing, but have cooked the onions and garlic in a skillet with some oil before adding it to the cooking beans. Then you've got some garlic onion oil to use for cooking quesadillas to go with the beans! I never saw a need for soaking the beans, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I suggest you cook the beans the night before, drain and refrigerate. I also refried the beans by melting lard (the more lard the tastier) and adding salt to taste, in a dutch oven. Add the beans 1/3 at a time and mash with the lard until all is hot and bubbling. Lower the heat and top with cheddar or Mexican cheese. This works great as a dip with tortilla chips too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawaii Tutu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pahoa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I didn't have time to soak beans, so I just used canned pintos. Sauteed the onion, garlic and jalapeno in a little olive oil, threw in the beans, and added a splash of chicken broth. Good stuff. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I have to admit I made some major changes to this recipe and I thought it made an excellent soup. I decided to saute chicken (boneleass skinless breast) in cumin and salt and a pinch of chili powder for about 6 minutes and added it to the soup for the last hour. I also added a small can of tomato sauce at the last ten minutes and garnished it with provolone cheese. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
These were okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Chicken Taco Dinner

This meal of tacos with black beans and chocolate pudding is under 600 calories.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States