Frijoles III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Much better than canned and not that hard to do. I used my in a dip but the uses are endless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AcaCandy
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
Didn't use the lard, added some dried epazote --- would recommend adding the cilantro towards the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AcaCandy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
These beans were "ok" but they are nothing like the picture. Even after adding a bunch of salt and garlic powder there wasn't much flavor. I will continue looking but I appreciate having the technique as I've never cooked pinto beans from dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2009
I didn't use the lard, and they were yummy. Good flavor. Add plenty of salt. Be sure to watch the water level! Mine almost started scorching when all the water absorbed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pearland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
These were okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
I have to admit I made some major changes to this recipe and I thought it made an excellent soup. I decided to saute chicken (boneleass skinless breast) in cumin and salt and a pinch of chili powder for about 6 minutes and added it to the soup for the last hour. I also added a small can of tomato sauce at the last ten minutes and garnished it with provolone cheese. It was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marie Lopez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I didn't have time to soak beans, so I just used canned pintos. Sauteed the onion, garlic and jalapeno in a little olive oil, threw in the beans, and added a splash of chicken broth. Good stuff. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2007
I suggest you cook the beans the night before, drain and refrigerate. I also refried the beans by melting lard (the more lard the tastier) and adding salt to taste, in a dutch oven. Add the beans 1/3 at a time and mash with the lard until all is hot and bubbling. Lower the heat and top with cheddar or Mexican cheese. This works great as a dip with tortilla chips too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hawaii Tutu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Pahoa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
My sister made almost the exact same thing after coming back from a summer internship living with a Mexican family. She didn't add the lard, but maybe put butter in, instead. I've made the same thing, but have cooked the onions and garlic in a skillet with some oil before adding it to the cooking beans. Then you've got some garlic onion oil to use for cooking quesadillas to go with the beans! I never saw a need for soaking the beans, either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Not at all a fan of these. That seemed to be the consensus of the house as well...perhaps just not to our liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Low-Cal Chicken Taco Dinner

This meal of tacos with black beans and chocolate pudding is under 600 calories.

Ham and Beans

Great Northern beans are simmered with ham, onion, brown sugar, and spices.

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States