Frijoles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 2, 2002
Brandi says tis recipe will take about 6 hours. Well they are going into hour #9 and are still hard as a rock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
Wonderful flavor and texture, Brandi! The reviewer who had hard beans after ten hours, probably forgot to soak overnight. Mine were done in 8.5 hours in the crockpot on low, after soaking all night long.Whirred them around in my food processor and Voila! Better than store bought and more flavorful than restaurant.Thanks Brandi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
These were "Super", but could use alittle more spicing up! Needs lots of salt & more garlic. I also mashed them & put them in a cassarole & pu cheese on the top & baked in a warm oven untill the cheese melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
This is the best bean recipe I have ever tried! I think the trick is to soak the beans overnight first. I used four pieces of already cooked bacon, which added a great smokey flavor to the beans. I left the crock pot on LOW for 10 hours, while I was at work, and when I got home, they were perfect! I mashed them up, added a little salt, some shredded cheese, and watched everyone gobble them up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
This is an excellent recipe. I made this for a potluck at work and people raved about them. I will make these many times! I cooked them on low in crock pot for the time in the recipe, and they were done just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
This recipe was so good. I used my food processor instead of the potatoe masher. Next time I will add mor of the liquid to them. When they where frist processed they were great but after the sat for a while they got real dry. They have a great flavor to them. Also I didn't take out the bacon. I processed it with the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
Great!! I am saying that because I have the hardest time making these beans!! I have tried everything and they never come out good..till now. My husband (mexican) even gave me a thumbs up!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I am just learning to cook and was nervous about making homemade beans, but they were great. I did not drain the water- just mashed it up and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
This was delicious! I tripled the recipe and cooked the beans on low for over 10 hours (started in the morning before I went to work). Please, note that I filled up the crock pot 3/4's full of water. I couldn't bring myself to smash them after I tasted the beans. I cooked a pound a hamburger mixed with picante salsa and used it for half the beans for a meal one night. The other beans I did mash and used it for burro's the next day. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
this recipe is simply wonderful! some of the reviewers mentioned they preferred more spice so i took the hint, added extra garlic & doubled the onion. i also only drained off 1/2 the liquid, did a partial mash & topped the beans with a small amount of grated cheddar cheese. you'll discover this recipe comes out very similar to refried beans. the next time i'm planning to find out how good these beans will be if served whole. thank you brandi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States