Frijoles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
They were ok. I soaked the beans for 14 hours and cooked on high for 8. Didn't touch them. They were really pastey and i don't think that they were cooked long enough. I will stick to my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kooking Kerry

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2004
this recipe is simply wonderful! some of the reviewers mentioned they preferred more spice so i took the hint, added extra garlic & doubled the onion. i also only drained off 1/2 the liquid, did a partial mash & topped the beans with a small amount of grated cheddar cheese. you'll discover this recipe comes out very similar to refried beans. the next time i'm planning to find out how good these beans will be if served whole. thank you brandi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2004
This was the first time I have ever tried to make refried beans. I made them for my annual cinco de mayo party. I soaked the beans for 8hrs and then put them in the crock pot for 6hrs. The beans were very easy to make however I wasn't crazy about the taste. They could have used a litle more spice. Maybe next time I will add some more onion and some chiles. Overall not bad, just a little bland for my tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2004
These were "Super", but could use alittle more spicing up! Needs lots of salt & more garlic. I also mashed them & put them in a cassarole & pu cheese on the top & baked in a warm oven untill the cheese melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2004
This was delicious! I tripled the recipe and cooked the beans on low for over 10 hours (started in the morning before I went to work). Please, note that I filled up the crock pot 3/4's full of water. I couldn't bring myself to smash them after I tasted the beans. I cooked a pound a hamburger mixed with picante salsa and used it for half the beans for a meal one night. The other beans I did mash and used it for burro's the next day. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2004
We liked this recipe. The only thing I did different was to add more onion and some green chili peppers. Thanks Brandi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wilemon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Afton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Larkspur, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2004
I am just learning to cook and was nervous about making homemade beans, but they were great. I did not drain the water- just mashed it up and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2003
Great!! I am saying that because I have the hardest time making these beans!! I have tried everything and they never come out good..till now. My husband (mexican) even gave me a thumbs up!! Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2003
This recipe was so good. I used my food processor instead of the potatoe masher. Next time I will add mor of the liquid to them. When they where frist processed they were great but after the sat for a while they got real dry. They have a great flavor to them. Also I didn't take out the bacon. I processed it with the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Torrington, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
This is a great use for all of my dried pinto beans. I now see why pintos are used for refried beans -- after soaking overnight and cooking all day on low, they mashed quite beautifully. The second time making this, I wanted to make it totally fat free. I omitted the bacon. After mashing, I added 1/8 teaspoon Liquid Smoke (could have done more), a small can of green chilies and 1 teaspoon of salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Schmelzer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Marion, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States