Frijoles II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
These were very good. I omitted the bacon, otherwise I made it just how the recipe said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2007
BLAND and really not worth all the time. I ended up refrying them after they cooked and adding some seasonings to pick it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
These beans smelled great while they were cooking and they cooked just fine, but they were way too bland. We added sour cream, taco seasoning, and pepper but it was still pasty and bland. We won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2006
Reminded me of ham and beans (same flavor). I just wanted to remind anyone before adding the beans to the slow cooker that they should either be soaked overnight or as the instuction manual to the crock pot says " beans should be softened completely before combining with sugar or acid food. It may have a hardening effect on them and will prevent softening. Or you can boil beans for 10 min. reduce heat, cover, and allow to simmer 1 1/2 hrs. or until beans are tender." I did this and they turned out being a good consistency when they came out of the crock .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjilee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Americus, Kansas, USA
Living In: Iuka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Mine came out great! These were exactly what I wanted- refried beans. I had a whole bag of light red kidney beans so I had to scale and fudge this a bit. I’m not much for fooling with dried beans but someone gave them to me and I needed to use them up. I used 2 crock-pots. I soaked the beans overnight. I went by the recipe except I also added about a tsp. of Adobo Seasoning to each crock for a little Mexican flavor. I highly recommend this if you have some around. I also used about half the bacon that the recipe called for because it was less fat and I hate to use expensive bacon just for seasoning. I didn’t drain any water. When my crocks of beans were getting mushy and the water was soupy and thick I transferred all the beans to a big microwave casserole. At this stage I didn’t need to discard my bacon. It had virtually dissolved in the beans. I mashed the rest of the solid beans up, and nuked them on medium 20 mins. stirred and nuked again on medium another 15 mins. This dried the soupiness out and made them that pasty consistency of refried beans that I was wanting without burning them in the crocks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUSTCYN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Bay Minette, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2006
Muchas Gracias, this execellent way of cooking beans..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Romana, La Romana, Dominican Republic
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2006
Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
Not as tasty as I would have liked and although I soaked and cooked them all day, they were still not soft enough for refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I found these to be pretty bland. If I made them again, I'd add lots more seasonings to them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waikoloa, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2004
This is my first unfavorable review! I came home to a pile of burnt on the outside, uncooked on the inside beans. This recipe needs more water if it will be on high for 6 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States