Frijoles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
Great Frijoles! Much better than any you'll get from a can! And as good as those from the best restaurants! As a variation I like to use 1/2 black beans, the black beans add a rich flavor. I doubled the recipe and put 1/2 in the freezer!! Great time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
Authenic taste. Made a double batch and froze half - still great the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
I used this recipe for whole beans. I subsituted pepper for cayenne pepper and added a couple of bay leaves. I left out butter/cheese. Very easy and flavorful. Not to mention lowfat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
I used your recipe for frijoles and it was delicious. I took this dish to a church gathering and out of the two bean dishes made, mine was the first one to go. The only change I made was to substitue some of the onions for green onions. I had to improvise because I was out of white onions. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I had an extra bag of beans so I made this. These are really good! Although I don't agree with the author, it didn't seem like much work to me. The only thing I did different was added more garlic and froze the ones we weren't eating that night. Last night we were having tacos so I added the beans to the taco meat and it was fantastic! Very budget minded, just what I need with 3 kids~~~~Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
Easy preparation and a hit at our mexican fiesta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
Easy, tasty, and makes a good leftover sidedish. Reduced amount of butter and increased amount of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2004
I did this recipe, and used canned pinto beans instead. I also melted the butter with the garlic in a saucepan, and after mashing the beans, I went ahead and added the butter to the beans slowly until I reached the desired consistency. It turned out good, and used it as the base for the seven layer dip!! It was wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~*Autumn*~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hilo, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
I love making things from scratch and this recipe was a hit. Easy to make. I did not change or alter any of the ingredients. Leftovers froze well. We have used them on tacos, salads and for bean burritos. I'll definitely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2005
I cook dried pinto beans fairly often but we're usually tired of eating leftovers before the pot of beans is gone. I had no idea how easy it would be to make delicious refried beans from them. From now on, I'll use this recipe on the leftovers and pop them in the freezer for our next Mexican meal. I'll never buy another can of refried beans. These are so good! Thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lawton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States