Frijoles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2003
Easy, tasty, and makes a good leftover sidedish. Reduced amount of butter and increased amount of garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
Easy preparation and a hit at our mexican fiesta!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
I'm a big bean person, so this recipe immediately appealed to me and seemed to go well with my "bff", Karen's Super Bowl party. I could eat refried beans right out of the can, so this was a tremendous treat! Ka and I didn't have enough time to do it the long way, so we subbed with canned beans. We also added canned green chiles and cut waaaaaay back on the butter. This was excellent and I wish there had been some leftovers! Good job Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
MMMM. Very authentic taste, the kids liked them as well. I'll have to confess...I cheated, I used canned beans & then picked it up from step 2. None the less still delicious. I'll do it right next time when I don't forget to soak the beans. I'll also cut the salt & pepper amounts in 1/2 as they were a bit salty and as my son says "spicy". Oh, I forgot to add the butter at the end...perhaps thats why. Thanks Karen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2003
I had an extra bag of beans so I made this. These are really good! Although I don't agree with the author, it didn't seem like much work to me. The only thing I did different was added more garlic and froze the ones we weren't eating that night. Last night we were having tacos so I added the beans to the taco meat and it was fantastic! Very budget minded, just what I need with 3 kids~~~~Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2002
I used your recipe for frijoles and it was delicious. I took this dish to a church gathering and out of the two bean dishes made, mine was the first one to go. The only change I made was to substitue some of the onions for green onions. I had to improvise because I was out of white onions. Thank you for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
These came out really soupy. I think next time I will drain a little of the water off before mashing them. Also, I had to keep it on a very low simmer to keep the beans from burning to the pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owasso, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
I used this recipe for whole beans. I subsituted pepper for cayenne pepper and added a couple of bay leaves. I left out butter/cheese. Very easy and flavorful. Not to mention lowfat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2002
Authenic taste. Made a double batch and froze half - still great the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hick Chick

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Royal City, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2001
Great Frijoles! Much better than any you'll get from a can! And as good as those from the best restaurants! As a variation I like to use 1/2 black beans, the black beans add a rich flavor. I doubled the recipe and put 1/2 in the freezer!! Great time saver!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States