Frijoles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Really good. With all these great recipes to try it makes me want to open up a restaurant and serve up all these tasy dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2006
These were great. I cooked them for around 3 and half hours, so it took almost no effort to mash them with a large fork (I don't have a potato masher). I layered half the beans with tortillas, salsa and plenty of cheddar cheese and baked @ 350 for 20 minutes. It was delicious, and I still have the other half of the batch left for some other tasty dish. I will probably make my refried beans like this a lot now, rather than buying them in a can. The only change I think I made was adding less margarine-- I didn't strictly measure, but I think it was closer to a 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sola

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
This was better than what they serve in mexican restuarants or out of a can, but it still tasted as if there was something missing. Not sure what it could be though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
If made correctly this is a tasty dish. The only things that I would consider not authentic is well, the butter (normally a litte bacon grease), obviously, and the salt (which is ALWAYS added at 20/30 mins before the beans are fully done. You can always add not fat and a dash of cumin and garlic powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BajaValle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenInCalifornia
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2006
These were great. I'll never go back to the canned ones! Mine were a little salty for our taste, but that's easily adjusted. I just eyeballed it anyway, so it was probably my fault. Great recipe, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Tried this twice thinking maybe the mistake was mine. Just too buttery of a flavor. The second time, I only used 1/3 of the amount the recipe calls for. Still too buttery flavored. I was making them to put into burritos. Who wants a butter flavored burrito? Perhaps good for other uses, but not at all to my liking. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
This isn't bad, but to make them really good try this! While the beans finish cooking, fry a pound (yes a pound) of lean bacon, add onion, garlic, jalepeno and the beans. Cook until everything is done and mash the beans. YES, leave ALL the grease in the pan. Not good for the arteries, but oh so good on the taste buds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
I wish I didn't even have to give them one star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raisin City, California, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2005
If god wanted refried beans for dinner, he would use this recipe. I made some of the dishes for my mexican dinner the night before and this one I couldn't stop eating from the bowel with a spoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Decent, but not on par with what i was hoping for. Maybe I messed something up. I will try these again and see what happens.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Beans with Pearl Onions

An easy balsamic glaze provides a flavor twist to this classic green beans dish.

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States