Frijoles I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 1, 2008
I have made these several times now, and they are so forgiving! I make them a little different everytime; sometimes I just add garlic, some butter, and maybe some cumin and chili powder. Other times I add salt, pepper, red pepper flakes, cumin, taco seasoning, and garlic. Each time I have made it it has been very good--I blend the beans up in batches with a blender to make them smoother though--I also never use the amount of butter they call for, only one to two tablespoons, and sometimes none at all and it is still good. I especially like to use this for nachos, by putting nachos in a dish and piling on salsa, the refried beans, jalapenos, and cheese, baking it for 10-15 minutes and then serving with shredded lettuce and tomato on top--pretty healthy and really fun to both prepare and to eat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2008
I think this is a wonderful basic recipe. Instead of two, I only used one good-sized white onion. I wasn't sure which type or size would suit the recipe best...it would certainly be helpful to specify for beginners like myself :) My preference is for smooth refried beans, so I blended the mixture for a while and it came out great. I recommmend lime pepper, bay leaf, oregano, and cayenne to spice it up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple Jacks

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I made this for my family of picky eaters and they ranted and raved. We live close to the border, so I just picked up some flour tortillas and some tostadas and and added the beans, then cheese, lettuce, and salsa. These were to die for!! I love using a recipe that tastes authentic, but does not contain lard or having to fry! Thanks a bunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Surpriseitswendy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
Awesome Recipe cooked as directed. A tip if you love spice- add some juice from a jar of pickled jalapenos while the beans are simmering down (approx 1/2 cup worth) It gives the beans excellent flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Snellville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
You really don't need to soak the beans; just wash them, bring to a boil (6 c. water for every 3 c. beans) and cook overnight or all day in a slow cooker. And use bacon drippings, lard or shortening, not butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sidney, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Galena, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
These are great! The whole family loves them. try adding different types of cheese to it. Such as Pepper Jack etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Turner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monrovia, California, USA
Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2007
I forgot to soak the beans the night before, so I used 2 cans of pinto beans (liquid as well). Added a little chicken bouillon and sauteed onion and garlic. I only used 1/4 cup butter. After waiting a while hoping the excess liquid would simmer away, I grew impatient and tossed in a can of refried beans, mashed the whole mixture up, and poured it in an 8x8 pan. I topped it with cheddar and queso fresco (leftover from the enchiladas) and baked it. Turned out awesome! The pan was scraped clean when I took it home. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2007
I would substitute lard or bacon fat for the butter because the butteriness throws off the flavor. This is still better than the can, which I feel has an odd aftertaste of preservatives and metal. Refried beans traditionally have a hint of savory pork taste/smell to them. I recommend using these refried beans in an awesome 7 Layer Dip, as a side dish with Spanish Rice and Enchiladas, or spread on a tortilla with other toppings. If you prefer/prepare this buttery version, please be warned that you may raise eyebrows of those who are regular refried bean eaters >:/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baybee Caix

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Photo by roxycat
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2007
this is a keeper. i substituted bacon drippings instead of butter & added a little bit of chili powder to give this more flavor. came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2007
I've made this recipe twice - the first time, exactly as written had such excellent, tasty results that I went ahead and made minor changes to create refried chili, the second time. Nice flavour, nice consistency, overally great result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States