Frijoles de Olla Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
I was going to put up my Hillbilly Pinto recipe until I saw this one. The only difference between this recipe and the one my family has used in the hills of Kentucky for well over a century is that we add a chopped onion in the beginning. If you don't have access to good lard, you can use uncured bacon or fatback and that's tasty too. What I like better about this recipe than most is that they don't soak the beans and throw out the water that contains all of that delicious bean flavor. By the way, if you are going to add anything with salt at the beginning of cooking, you have to soak the beans for at least 8 hours or you will never get them tender. Or... you can follow this recipe and skip the soaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Venice, California, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
Simple and versatile! You can do anything with these beans, or nothing. I like a little more complexity to mine and added onion and peppers but sometimes, simple is indeed better! Lard Rules!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Richard

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Nacogdoches, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
PERFECT! I couldn't remember the quantities. I used bacon grease and skipped the salt. For those seeking "creamier" beans, simply mash the beans, add water and cook for a couple more hours. Keep an eye on them. After beans are cooked, I don't actually refry them, but I do add lots of extras. I like sauteed onion and garlic, cumin and oregano -- mainly for beans I eat on their own with tortillas and chopped fresh tomato, and a dollop of crema fresca -- Mexican sour cream, which is kind of like loose cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stevecruz Denver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
I was looking for something fool proof and I suppose basic. I wanted to make beans for "rice bowls" that I wanted to have for dinner. Rice, corn, shredded chicken, beans, shredded cheese and avacado = in no particular order. I was afraid to add salt but 2nd try I went ahead and added half at beginning, better (to me) than adding during last half hour. This recipe makes a good bean. *** also I've now started to keep bacon fat in a container in the fridge vs. tossing after making bacon ***
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
I've been making this recipe for a while, most probably don't realize this recipe is similar to basic canned beans for adding to other dishes. And has less salt then can beans. It's a perfect recipe for adding into chili, refried beans, casseroles & bean dishes. I just realized I forgot to rate it. And great for changing up other types of beans, since I have a mass amount of mayocoba beans, I tend to use them more in this recipe then anything. The recipe is very light in flavor and I don't find the recipe over powering in salt. TY just thought I'd let you know I've been using this recipre now for about 3 years in rotation with a few other bean recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I made these tonight to have for meals tommorrow Mine looked more like the pic. by Acacandy. The problem I had was I thought they were "super salty." I wish I would have done 1/2 the salt and added more if it was needed. By the time they are done cooking they do absorb every bit of water. I was surprised with a full 10 cups. The only change I made was using vegetable oil instead of lard. I do that a lot, with no problem. I also expected them to have a creamier texture to for some reason. Maybe, that depends on the bean. I may just use them in bean and cheese burritos. If looking to make beans and rice or refried beans, I would look for a recipe specifically for that with the right flavorings. This is just a basic cooked and salted bean, kind of like the can but without any liquid, in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Delicioso! I had never made frijoles de la ola'....they came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sinsumama

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Whittier, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
This same recipe can be cooked in a pressure cooker. If you soak the beans and use natural release, the beans can be cooked in 1 to 3 minutes!! If you use the quick release method of steam, cooking time goes up to 4-6 minutes. Amazing time saver and fuel saver as well. Once I got over the false fear of it blowing up and buying one (actually got two). I use it all the time and am so impressed with the time I save. This recipe can be done and you'd save yourself literally hours. Best thing I ever bought. I want to share with others so that more recipes appear for pressure cooking adaptions. Think about it: 5 minutes vs. 3 hours. Kind of a no-brainer once you get over any fear. Many safeguards have now been built in so that it is virtually impossible to have them blow up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I have been cooking pintos like this for over 50 years. I thought it was the only way to cook them along with some cubes of salt meat or bacon. Someone mentioned using bacon grease instead of lard but, lard is rendered pork fat or in short, bacon grease. I always save all my bacon grease, strain it thru cheese cloth and freeze until needed for seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
same way I make BUT I do not put lard. I will put canola oil after they are made BUT only if I refry them. I do add a whole onion, couple of cloves of garlic and a jalepeno .. yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

How to Make Braised Black Lentils

See how to make black lentils braised in chicken stock.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States