Frijoles a la Charra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
My first attempt was a failure, the beans didn't get soft after hours of cooking. Turns out this happens if you add acidic (tomatoes) things before the beans soften, according to some websites, this can also happen if you add the salt too early. So make sure the beans have softened to your liking before adding the bacon/tomato/chili mixture. My second attempt was on the stovetop rather than crockpot. I used black instead of pinto, because that's what I had on hand, and soaked them overnight. Simmered on the stovetop with garlic only for about 90min, then added the bacon mixture with 12oz bacon and three tomatoes. Also used Anaheim Instead of jalapeños because I was serving to kids and didn't want it too spicy. Also added the beer at this point, and only a cup because of the other comments. Simmered it with the lid off to thicken the liquid for another hour and stirred in the cilantro. Perfection!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2015
TO PREP DRY BEANS: if you don't want to soak them overnight, boil them for 3 minutes, then let them sit, covered, for an hour. Drain & rinse. (Save the water for your plants!) This works fine. It is how I prep for my New England baked beans done in a slow cooker. Also, adding a tablespoon of baking soda while they sit makes them less gassy when you eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
I am not a bean lover. Growing up you couldn't pay me to eat beans. Today, they are not my first choice in a meal. My mother loved beans. I would eat this again in an instant. I wish my mother were still alive so I could make it for her. I made this because my husband loves beans and Latin-influences. I added hot chirozo and one can of vegetable broth. I used a handful of fresh cilantro, half a handful of fresh parsley, a can a diced tomatoes with chills, a sweet onion, the bacon and its grease, and bud light with lime. I soaked the beans overnight and still had to cook them on high for about 6 hours. I added most of the ingredients in the beginning then the beer with fresh herbs halfway through. This is delicious and I will make again. Oh, I made Spanish rice. Pay hub mixed this with the rice, added olives, and was in love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Can

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I made these with rotel instead of fresh tomatoes and they were perfect! I've missed frijoles a la charra living on the east coast and these hit the spot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Libby Rojas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
I followed this to the letter and had beans that were hard as rocks at the end of the cooking time. Not everyone knows to soak first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Instead of bacon i used pork skins, was very good recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Edinburg, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
I don't know if I did something wrong, but I followed this recipe and got bland beans. I soaked the beans for 10 hours and then boiled them for an hour before sticking it all in a crock pot and my beans still weren't done after 10 hours. I may try this again but without the beer, we used Coors Light and the beer taste was too distinct for me (beer loving husband enjoyed it though).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michael Martin
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Started this last night with the overnight soak of the beans and then made it with all the ingredients except the jalapenos...which I will definitely add next time. Came out great...and we really need it as tonight is a very cold night perfect for a hot steaming bowl of Frijoles a la Charra.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Martin

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
We omit the beer, and we LOVE this recipe! Freezes well, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2013
i loved this recipe the only thing i changed was i omitted the bacon and added beef sausage cut up and cooked with beans. Was scared to put to much jalapeno in it and didn't put enough but will diffentely make this again my husband is hispanic and loved them. Said it was as good as his mamma's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sea Bass a la Michele

Roasted sea bass and potatoes with sherry vinegar and smoked paprika vinaigrette.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States