Frijoles a la Charra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
I had been looking for a recipe for "Charro" pinto beans ever since I tasted them on a trip to Austin, Tx last summer. These are pretty close. Only thing I changed was to use half water-half chicken broth to start cooking the beans, and I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies instead of the fresh, as they are soooo expensive. I will make these often as I now prefer these to refried beans. Thank you Kim!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
88 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
My whole family loved this recipe. It's different from typical baked beans. I had to substitute canned pintos (used 2 cans) for the dried beans, and then used only 1/2 a can of beer since I didn't have quite as many beans, but it was very good. My husband, father and brother-in-law raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This recipe is the one I've been looking for. I am a Texan, so beans a la charra are easy to come by here. Yet, this recipe is tied for first place with my cousin's who won't tell her recipe. Ha-Ha, I don't need it now. The person that gave it one star must have done something wrong. I doubled the recipe, except for the beer (used only one can) and added crushed beef boullion (about 2 cubes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I am a born and raised Texan, married to a hispanic male, and we have tried our share of beans a la charra. This is the best yet! My husband went to the grocery store this morning to buy all of the ingrediants so that I can make it again today. I, also, doubled the recipe, except for the beer, and cut my bacon when it was frozen. I can't wait to make this for my Hispanic in-laws, and show 'em gringa's stuff. He-He
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
141 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOMATOGRAVY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
These frijoles were awesome! My husband and I have tried many frijoles recipes and this is the best. We will not use the beer next time because our beans don't need to be boracho! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Great bean side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Delicious! I didn't use beer at all. I am making them again, and next time I will drain off more of the bacon - it was a bit greasy. But still great. Told they were the best beans they'd ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I love beans!! This was really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Very authentic tasting. Husband and I loved it, kids didn't. They are more accustomed to canned refried beans. I soaked the beans overnight. At the end of the cooking time, I had to drain ALOT of water, so I'm thinking that the overnight soak was not neccesary. I think I'll try it w/out the soak next time. Also, for anyone like me who might be wondering, I did not mash the beans at all. No need. They turned out wonderful. As a side dish or inside of tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I have made this atleast 5 times in the last 2 months. HUGE hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sea Bass a la Michele

Roasted sea bass and potatoes with sherry vinegar and smoked paprika vinaigrette.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States