Frijoles a la Charra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
these have a good flavor, but not any better than my own recipe. AN IMPORTANT NOTE: you MUST soak beans overnight first. anyone trying to follow this recipe who does not do so is going to be pretty frustrated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
174 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I am a born and raised Texan, married to a hispanic male, and we have tried our share of beans a la charra. This is the best yet! My husband went to the grocery store this morning to buy all of the ingrediants so that I can make it again today. I, also, doubled the recipe, except for the beer, and cut my bacon when it was frozen. I can't wait to make this for my Hispanic in-laws, and show 'em gringa's stuff. He-He
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
124 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOMATOGRAVY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
I had been looking for a recipe for "Charro" pinto beans ever since I tasted them on a trip to Austin, Tx last summer. These are pretty close. Only thing I changed was to use half water-half chicken broth to start cooking the beans, and I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies instead of the fresh, as they are soooo expensive. I will make these often as I now prefer these to refried beans. Thank you Kim!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
What fabulous beans! I used 3 cups of dried pinto beans. I did not have any fresh tomatoes, so I did substitute diced canned tomatoes with green chiles. I still added the jalepenos and did not find the heat too much. The only other modification I made was adding 2 packets of Goya Sazon because I really find that it adds so much to the taste. For the people who said their been took a lot longer, you most likely have old beans (even if you just bought them). There's really no way to tell, but try to shop at a Mexican grocery store if there is one in your city. The product is turned over much faster there. I'm happy to have found this recipe to add to my bean dish collection. It is a grate side to some simple quesidillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This recipe is the one I've been looking for. I am a Texan, so beans a la charra are easy to come by here. Yet, this recipe is tied for first place with my cousin's who won't tell her recipe. Ha-Ha, I don't need it now. The person that gave it one star must have done something wrong. I doubled the recipe, except for the beer (used only one can) and added crushed beef boullion (about 2 cubes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
Great recipe, although a little on the spicy side for some. If you're a wimp about spicey stuff, I suggest going easy on the jalapeno's the first time. Also, the southern bred husband told me you shouldn't salt beans until the end of cooking, and he suggested not adding the salt until the last half hour when you add the cilantro and beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2006
This recipe is GREAT!!! I’ve made these beans about four times now and every time they come out superb. I do double the recipe & omit the bear & jalapenos so that everyone can enjoy them & I put 2 tsp. of crushed beef bouillon as suggested by another reviewer. If you’re looking for a great Frijoles a la Charra recipe this is the one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out horrible! The beans were hard and the beer made them smell awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Loved the recipe. Warning: Do not use Budweiser beer for this recipe as it is too strong. I used it and it made the beans smell like beer. But the beans still tasted great. Next time, I'll use light beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
These frijoles were awesome! My husband and I have tried many frijoles recipes and this is the best. We will not use the beer next time because our beans don't need to be boracho! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States