Frijoles a la Charra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2005
I had been looking for a recipe for "Charro" pinto beans ever since I tasted them on a trip to Austin, Tx last summer. These are pretty close. Only thing I changed was to use half water-half chicken broth to start cooking the beans, and I used a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies instead of the fresh, as they are soooo expensive. I will make these often as I now prefer these to refried beans. Thank you Kim!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2005
Great recipe, although a little on the spicy side for some. If you're a wimp about spicey stuff, I suggest going easy on the jalapeno's the first time. Also, the southern bred husband told me you shouldn't salt beans until the end of cooking, and he suggested not adding the salt until the last half hour when you add the cilantro and beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2005
My whole family loved this recipe. It's different from typical baked beans. I had to substitute canned pintos (used 2 cans) for the dried beans, and then used only 1/2 a can of beer since I didn't have quite as many beans, but it was very good. My husband, father and brother-in-law raved about them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Please note that it took FOREVER for the beans to cook - I had to keep checking the recipe to ensure that it did not state to soak overnight - and it didn't!!! They just weren't tasty, and they were rather bland - also, they did not look very appetizing. Unfortunately, I did not serve them at the party I had - I followed the recipe exactly - no variances. Better luck to others!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This recipe is the one I've been looking for. I am a Texan, so beans a la charra are easy to come by here. Yet, this recipe is tied for first place with my cousin's who won't tell her recipe. Ha-Ha, I don't need it now. The person that gave it one star must have done something wrong. I doubled the recipe, except for the beer (used only one can) and added crushed beef boullion (about 2 cubes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I am a born and raised Texan, married to a hispanic male, and we have tried our share of beans a la charra. This is the best yet! My husband went to the grocery store this morning to buy all of the ingrediants so that I can make it again today. I, also, doubled the recipe, except for the beer, and cut my bacon when it was frozen. I can't wait to make this for my Hispanic in-laws, and show 'em gringa's stuff. He-He
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOMATOGRAVY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I love beans!! This was really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
These frijoles were awesome! My husband and I have tried many frijoles recipes and this is the best. We will not use the beer next time because our beans don't need to be boracho! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Great bean side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
these have a good flavor, but not any better than my own recipe. AN IMPORTANT NOTE: you MUST soak beans overnight first. anyone trying to follow this recipe who does not do so is going to be pretty frustrated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States