Frijoles a la Charra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
MY FAMILY LOVED EM..I LOVED EM. THIS WILL GO IN THE RECIPE BOX. NO NEED TO KEEP LOOKING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
The flavors in this dish are pretty good. We omitted the jalapenos to make it more kid friendly and it still came out well. The problem is that the beans just don't have enough time to cook. I would suggest cooking for 6 hours on low or 4 hours on high after the first hour on high.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2006
These were deliciously spicy and easy to make. The only omission I made was the beer, since I didn't have any on hand. Also, I halved the recipe, used one can of pinto beans one bacon slice and a handful of real bacon crumbles.These have a definite Tex Mex flavor that makes a delicious side or simple main dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cali

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I have made this atleast 5 times in the last 2 months. HUGE hit every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
I followed this recipe exactly and it turned out horrible! The beans were hard and the beer made them smell awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Very authentic tasting. Husband and I loved it, kids didn't. They are more accustomed to canned refried beans. I soaked the beans overnight. At the end of the cooking time, I had to drain ALOT of water, so I'm thinking that the overnight soak was not neccesary. I think I'll try it w/out the soak next time. Also, for anyone like me who might be wondering, I did not mash the beans at all. No need. They turned out wonderful. As a side dish or inside of tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Delicious! I didn't use beer at all. I am making them again, and next time I will drain off more of the bacon - it was a bit greasy. But still great. Told they were the best beans they'd ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Loved the recipe. Warning: Do not use Budweiser beer for this recipe as it is too strong. I used it and it made the beans smell like beer. But the beans still tasted great. Next time, I'll use light beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
these have a good flavor, but not any better than my own recipe. AN IMPORTANT NOTE: you MUST soak beans overnight first. anyone trying to follow this recipe who does not do so is going to be pretty frustrated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Great bean side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sea Bass a la Michele

Roasted sea bass and potatoes with sherry vinegar and smoked paprika vinaigrette.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States