Frijoles a la Charra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
Very authentic tasting. Husband and I loved it, kids didn't. They are more accustomed to canned refried beans. I soaked the beans overnight. At the end of the cooking time, I had to drain ALOT of water, so I'm thinking that the overnight soak was not neccesary. I think I'll try it w/out the soak next time. Also, for anyone like me who might be wondering, I did not mash the beans at all. No need. They turned out wonderful. As a side dish or inside of tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pasomomma

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2006
Delicious! I didn't use beer at all. I am making them again, and next time I will drain off more of the bacon - it was a bit greasy. But still great. Told they were the best beans they'd ever had.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2006
Loved the recipe. Warning: Do not use Budweiser beer for this recipe as it is too strong. I used it and it made the beans smell like beer. But the beans still tasted great. Next time, I'll use light beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2006
these have a good flavor, but not any better than my own recipe. AN IMPORTANT NOTE: you MUST soak beans overnight first. anyone trying to follow this recipe who does not do so is going to be pretty frustrated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
177 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lockesmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
Great bean side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2005
These frijoles were awesome! My husband and I have tried many frijoles recipes and this is the best. We will not use the beer next time because our beans don't need to be boracho! Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2005
I love beans!! This was really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
I am a born and raised Texan, married to a hispanic male, and we have tried our share of beans a la charra. This is the best yet! My husband went to the grocery store this morning to buy all of the ingrediants so that I can make it again today. I, also, doubled the recipe, except for the beer, and cut my bacon when it was frozen. I can't wait to make this for my Hispanic in-laws, and show 'em gringa's stuff. He-He
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
130 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TOMATOGRAVY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baytown, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This recipe is the one I've been looking for. I am a Texan, so beans a la charra are easy to come by here. Yet, this recipe is tied for first place with my cousin's who won't tell her recipe. Ha-Ha, I don't need it now. The person that gave it one star must have done something wrong. I doubled the recipe, except for the beer (used only one can) and added crushed beef boullion (about 2 cubes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2005
Please note that it took FOREVER for the beans to cook - I had to keep checking the recipe to ensure that it did not state to soak overnight - and it didn't!!! They just weren't tasty, and they were rather bland - also, they did not look very appetizing. Unfortunately, I did not serve them at the party I had - I followed the recipe exactly - no variances. Better luck to others!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States