Frijoles a la Charra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
These were pretty good but I wasn't a big fan of the beer smell. The taste of the beer disappeared (good thing because I hate beer) but it did enhance the overall flavor of the dish. I followed the recipe pretty closely, the exceptions I made were using fresh jalapeno instead of canned, salt pork instead of bacon and cooking on the stovetop rather than in a slow cooker. I did not soak my beans and they turned out just fine after about 3 hours. I give it 4 stars because although it was good I just wasn't wowed. I expected a more vibrant flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Java_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2007
Excellent recipe. My only advice would be to save the salt until the end since it can sometimes make beans tough. I used a very dark beer. I wasn't sure about how that would work but it was all I had on hand. It was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2007
My abuelita uses bacon and pig skin (fat) in her beans. You can get pig skin and other uncommon meat items from a local mexican store. Like ears tongue. We made these beans last New Years and they turned out great, minus the beer. Soaking beans before cooking is a must.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
What fabulous beans! I used 3 cups of dried pinto beans. I did not have any fresh tomatoes, so I did substitute diced canned tomatoes with green chiles. I still added the jalepenos and did not find the heat too much. The only other modification I made was adding 2 packets of Goya Sazon because I really find that it adds so much to the taste. For the people who said their been took a lot longer, you most likely have old beans (even if you just bought them). There's really no way to tell, but try to shop at a Mexican grocery store if there is one in your city. The product is turned over much faster there. I'm happy to have found this recipe to add to my bean dish collection. It is a grate side to some simple quesidillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen H

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2007
These were very good but I highly recommend soaking your beans overnight. I cooked them on high for six hours, and they were perfect. I skipped the addition of beer. In my opinion it would have detracted from the flavor. Overall, a very good recipe. Serve in bowls with warmed tortillas or place pieces of fresh cornbread in a bowl and spoon the beans over the top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BroncosFan
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2007
I used giant limas and black beans and the kids loved it. The bacon-y flavor was wonderful. Next time I'll use pinto beans and I'm certain there will be a "next time." Thanks for the post!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Johanna WISHES she were a

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I served these at a party as a side dish, they were just okay. No rave reviews but no complaints either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This recipe is great because you don't have to soak the beans. However, the beer just didn't do it for me or my family. So I omitted the beer, added 1 1/2 tsp. chilli powder and 1 tsp. cumin. I used garlic powder instead of regular garlic and I agree if you make this in a slow cooker try 6 hours on low or 4 hours on high after the initial 1 hour on high. I might try adding some salt pork next time too. The first time I ever had this it was made by a true "old school" Mexican grandmother and she used pork as well and it added so much more flavor. That's the recipe that hooked me. But anyways this recipe is a great base, you just need to make it to your taste. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2007
i tried this recipe, because i really love frijoles a la charra, and i made them with barbacoa. Man did the family love it, they still compliment me on my beans. Thanks to you of course. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wifeyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
Tried this recipe instead of my usual refried beans as a side dish to enchiladas; FANTASTIC!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 94) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States