Frijoles a la Charra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by BUNDHRI
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I would have given this 5 stars, but it just seemed to be lacking a bit of something. Needs a bit more flavor. Odd taste from the beer, not unpleasant, just odd. Perhaps it was the type of beer we used. Added habanero to the mix as well. Will likely use the recipe again but with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Sorry for the low rating, I just don't know how everyone else rated it so high? I soaked them overnight and followed the directions but they were still hard, so I had to cook them longer. And mine lacked flavor...perhaps it is my fault and I cooked it wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Soaked the beans overnight. Still took well over six hours for the beans. After four hours I turned the heat up to high. I used 1/2 water, 1/2 chicken broth for more flavor, but these were still a little bland. I used a fresh jalapeno instead of the can. I noticed in the reviews that alot of people only used 1/2 a beer. So that is what I did. I used 1/2 a Corona. These were a little to soupy so I mashed quite a bit of it to thicken it up. In comparing these to the Kiki Borracho Beans(Drunken Beans, this recipe was better. I think the addition of bacon helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
These were great. I did only add about 3 oz. of light beer. I'm not a big beer fan though. Plan on making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Excellant my family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I would rate higher if I might have used the recipe as is but I made some modifications. I used 1 lb of pinto beans in which I did NOT soak them overnight. I used a crockpot and added my beans (after rinsing, of course), and added 2 ham hocks and covered with water and cooked on HIGH for 8 1/2 hours. At 4 hours I added 1/2 onion and a can of tomatoes. After 8 1/2 hours this was perfect....I added chopped cilantro on top and it made a great meal with cornbread (recipe from The Neeley's (food network) - Honey Cornbread)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waxahachie, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
This had excellent flavor. I will be honest: I used canned beans in a saucepan instead. Either use quality bacon or chop your cheapo bacon up really finely. I worried unnecessarily about the saltiness before I added the beer. I had to cook it longer to reduce the beer down and next time will add just half a bottle. I liked the heat that the pickled jalapenos added to the beans, though I tended to leave all of them at the bottom of my bowl. I liked that the heat did not overpower the dish but was still detectable. I really enjoyed the flavor in these beans. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This was good but I will leave out the beer next time. It was overpowering.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Rosenthal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Great recipe! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scatcat ~ Rachel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, Texas, USA
Living In: Bremond, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
I made this for dinner tonight,and it turned out GREAT! I drained half the water out,after boiling beans for an hour(in a regular pot)on top of the stove. Added beef broth instead of the beer. Added a can of ro-tel to the mix (we like it spicy) instead of the fresh tomatoes. Served with a side salad and corn-bread! A delicious bean dinner : Great meal for snugglin'up after (wink,wink)! HA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRAD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sea Bass a la Michele

Roasted sea bass and potatoes with sherry vinegar and smoked paprika vinaigrette.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States