Frijoles a la Charra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
I have been making this recipe for several years. It is my "go to" recipe when I make Mexican food of any kind. The only change I make is that I substitute a 14.5 ounce can of diced tomatoes instead of the fresh tomatoes. I always have canned tomatoes on hand, and I only really like fresh tomatoes in the summer when they are in season where I live. Also, I never soak my beans beforehand, and they always turn out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
My fav Mexican restaurant serves a cup of bean soup when you sit down. By soup I mean with a broth consistency. I tried to copy a few times and while taste was ok still wasn't like they served. Found this recipe and do a bit different but just for personal preference. Soak beans, drain, cook at simmer so they don't break. Drain again and add ingredients, simmer for half hour. I do swap beer for chicken stock and like to add ham if I have some hanging around. Also use a fresh jalapeño or two instead of canned. And as usual, I skip the salt. Double up to freeze some for later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAMELA D. aPROpos of nothing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Very good beans! My husband I will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
This is an excellent recipe. It's exactly what I was looking for and turned out even better than expected. I altered the recipe just slightly. I didn't use a full can of beer. To me, it would have been too soupy. I added a bit more salt and used Canadian bacon instead of regular bacon. (I did this to cut down on fat.) It added great flavor, and I'll probably always use that instead. Finally, I added more jalapeno peppers than suggested because we really like a lot of heat. I soaked the beans overnight and cooked them on high for 1 hour and then all day on low (about 6 or 7 hours). I'm not sure they'd be done after only 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
This was tasty but next time I will add more tomatoes and more jalapenos. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BUNDHRI
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2010
I would have given this 5 stars, but it just seemed to be lacking a bit of something. Needs a bit more flavor. Odd taste from the beer, not unpleasant, just odd. Perhaps it was the type of beer we used. Added habanero to the mix as well. Will likely use the recipe again but with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2010
Sorry for the low rating, I just don't know how everyone else rated it so high? I soaked them overnight and followed the directions but they were still hard, so I had to cook them longer. And mine lacked flavor...perhaps it is my fault and I cooked it wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Soaked the beans overnight. Still took well over six hours for the beans. After four hours I turned the heat up to high. I used 1/2 water, 1/2 chicken broth for more flavor, but these were still a little bland. I used a fresh jalapeno instead of the can. I noticed in the reviews that alot of people only used 1/2 a beer. So that is what I did. I used 1/2 a Corona. These were a little to soupy so I mashed quite a bit of it to thicken it up. In comparing these to the Kiki Borracho Beans(Drunken Beans, this recipe was better. I think the addition of bacon helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2010
These were great. I did only add about 3 oz. of light beer. I'm not a big beer fan though. Plan on making this one again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
Excellant my family loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Slow Cooker Posole

See how to make a traditional Mexican posole in your slow cooker.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States