Frijoles a la Charra Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
This bean soup recipe was delicious, just what I wanted. I made quite a few changes to the recipe as follows. Quick soak the beans according to the package instructions before putting them, garlic, and salt into the slow cooker. Cook the beans on high for two hours before adding sauteed bacon, onion, one drained can tomatoes, one pack sazon goya, and 2 jalapenos. Continue to cook on high for another 2 hours. Turn the heat down to low, add half a can of budweiser beer and the chopped cilantro to cook for an additional half hour. Before serving, brighten the soup's flavor by adding a squeeze of lime and a few fresh cilantro leaves to each bowl. The beans were cooked through and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
I love this recipe-- it reminds me of the soup served at one of my favorite childhood restaurants. I made some changes because of what I had on hand and the fact that I had already started a crockpot of beans with a can of rotel when I found this recipe. So I omitted the fresh tomatoes and I used some fresh frozen jalepenos I had instead of the canned. I left out the beer. The fresh cilantro is a MUST, it really makes this soup stand out. I also cooked these beans on low all day (about 8-10 hours) and they turned out fine. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I really liked the earthy, smokey flavors of this dish. The directions, however, are really more for cooking beans on the stove top in a heavy dutch oven. If using a slow cooker: Soak your beans overnight first (which I would do for ANY dry bean recipe) and plan on cooking the bean on high for several hours before adding the rest of your ingredients. Decilicious recipe - just don't think that it will be ready in five hours if you don't soak your beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
did not add the beer and added 1 cube of knorr beef broth....came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
I like spicy, but these were too much. I could have dealt with the heat, but the beer flavor was MUCH too strong. I used a porter, so maybe it was too heavy a beer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
These took a little longer than expected. Next time I will leave myself 6 hrs or more in order to ensure they are done in time. BUT they turned out great! I only had pre-minced garlic so I used 2.5 tsp instead of chopping the garlic cloves. I will make these again to show off my skills to the family : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STACII24

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mariposa, California, USA
Living In: New Athens, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2011
I made this yesterday and it turned out pretty good. I did use fresh jalapenos, a small (7oz) bottle of Corona and a can of diced tomatoes instead. I also substituted Knorr chicken with tomato boullian for some of the water. The beans I had must have been fresh since it only took about 3 hours on High and 2 hours on Low in crock pot. I was worried about the beans after reading a lot of the reviews, that's why so long on high. This all tasted very very good but I was looking more for the Boracho (sp) beans I used to get at some restaurants in San Antonio. I'll keep looking. But I'll use this recipe again. The beans were that good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2011
this was ok. I wasn't too big on the beer favor. I would leave that out next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2011
These were very tasty. I used fresh jalapenos instead of canned. I cooked them about an hour longer than it calls for to be comfortable with the bean tenderness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
These were great! My husbands grandmother wants me to make them for every potluck now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHERNJOY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 98) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sea Bass a la Michele

Roasted sea bass and potatoes with sherry vinegar and smoked paprika vinaigrette.

Rice Balls a la Tim

See how to make beefy baked rice balls with tomato sauce.

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States