Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
yum!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Hall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Gave these to my neighbors as Christmas gifts. Everyone loved them. The soup is very yummy. Great gift idea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Quinnellope1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bishop, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
I LOVE this soup! I make jars of it every year and make a couple pots for us too. It's such a hearty, tasty soup! I usually use Italian sausage instead of ground beef and seasoned diced tomatoes (Red Gold onion, garlic & basil) just to add a bit more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
fun to make and great to eat. I made a bunch of these to have on hand for when I'm in a pinch for a meal.Scaled the recipe down to serve 4. I usually will toss another handful of any shaped pasta that I have on hand to beef it up a little; it's definitely not necessarily though. This is hearty enough to be a meal. Add a loaf of French Bread &/or a salad and you're set!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I received this recipe as a gift last year and now I make it all the time!! I love it and suggest it all the time!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I'm planning on giving these as holiday gifts this year, so I wanted to try it out first. I wasn't disappointed! This is a really easy, tasty and low-cost recipe. The presentation got lots of compliments from my extended family before I even made it. And then they really enjoyed it for dinner...even the picky eaters. The only modifications I made were to use half French lentils and half red lentils since they add such nice color and cook up great. I also added 1/2 cup dehyrated diced carrots on the top layer just under the pasta and think this was an excellent addition. And then I used one 10-ounce can tomato sauce instead of tomato paste, and only one 15-ounce can diced tomatoes. Served with grated Parmesan cheese on top and a green salad on the side...Yum! P.S. the 1-quart jars I had on-hand worked out fine, though next time I think I'll use wide-mouth jars for easier filling...using a funnel really helped too. Hint: for decorative canning labels I went to MyOwnLabels.com and made beautiful custom lid labels for a reasonable price!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shae's Mama

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Gave this as gifts last year, really cheap to make. Was a awesome gift, easy to layer ingrediebrs with a funnel. It isn't the best soup EVER, but as a gift to people who may not cook often, it's close.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I replaced the lentils with dry beans, which needed to be pre cooked, or replaced with canned beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was fabulous! I did take advice from others reviews and used less tomatoes, also used fresh garlic. My only other advice is to boil the beans first as they don't cook as quickly as the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I made these for Christmas gifts this year and from the people who have actually made the soup so far I get great compliments. I made a jar for us and it was wonderful. I used chopped up turkey sausage links and it was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy1979

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States