Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Only rating 4 stars, since I have only made the jars. Turned out super cute! Used green and yellow split peas and multi colored twist pasta. Also made the Easy Beer Bread Mix from this site to add. UPDATE: Made the soup and it was really good. Make sure you use a big pot (8 qt plus) and let the peas cook till really soft. Everyone loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Easy to make and very pretty. I added black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeekendWarrior

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by princeslani
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
YUM!! i made these for christmas gifts. i thought i would try the recipe before i gave them away :) i made the soup last night and it was very tasty!! all of the ingredients are super cheap, so these make perfect gifts if you have several people to give to. i used clear treat bags instead of jars (bags are much cheaper). the only issue i had was that i couldnt find beef boullion granules so i just smashed up a bunch of the cubes. it takes 12 cubes per jar/bag (whatever). i followed the recipe exactly and i think this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princeslani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA
Photo by 612jasonw
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is my first time ever writing a review. I love this soup. Just got done making 6 jars for Christmas gifts and made a pot for dinner. It was delicious. I've never had a soup with hamburger in it. I was a little skeptical but it is yummy! Mine fit nicely in quart size jars. I added 1/2 cup split dried yellow peas and the jar filled perfectly and added another splash of color. Don't hesitate to make these as gifts! Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
all I can say is yummy!. I forgot to add the tomato paste, but it made a nice light brothy soup without it. I will be giving this out as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
So good! I made this to see if I wanted to do it for gifts and it's a go! My husband even liked it and he is not a soup guy. I made it with "Buttery Corn Bread." I used 1 15 oz can of diced tomatoes and 1 15 oz can of tomato sauce. I also used stew meat instead of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by free_by_grace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webb City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Made these jars up for Christmas gifts. Everyone has raved about how great this soup is... I make it up often for gifts now-- especially for my "uncle in law" that has cancer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is a super tasty soup recipe that makes a ton and freezes well. Instead of using a jar I used plastic goodie bags and they worked just as well, the contents shifted a little bit but they still looked pretty and it was much cheaper than buying a bunch of jars. Just a suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hillary625

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Beautiful presentation, but I thought the soup was really lacking something. It just wasn't rich enough for me. If I made it again, I would add something, although I'm not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkcooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Yum! I recieved this as a gift & it was delicious-- I did use tomato paste, I just made sure it was really well blended with the beef before adding water. The house smelled delicious & the soup was perfect for a chilly winter day! I will definitely make this for others as a gift... it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States