Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2004
I used 2 packs of onion soup mix in place of the bouillon granules and onion flakes and I omitted the bay leaves. It worked out great. Any pasta will work for the alphabet pasta. The soup is quite thick, and will need stirred often to keep from burning. Adding more water helps. I used 1 1/2 lbs. ground beef and it was quite satisfying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2004
I made this as part of a "dinner basket" for a new mom. I just used a pint jar, and left out the pasta. (I put it in a clear plastic bag tied up with a pretty ribbon.) The presentation was very pretty. I aslo made it for my family - minus the ground beef. Tasty! My husband can't wait to have it with the meat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2004
I gave this out as x-mas presents and all were impressed with how it looked. I also made up a batch (it makes a lot) without ground beef, and it's pretty tasty. Also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLH201

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2004
Thought the recipe was great, my family really liked it! I gave this away as teacher gifts for Christmas and as thank you gifts to close friends. It was a little thick and I added some water. Thanks for sharing the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
Made this up to tuck in baskets this past Christmas and everyone seems to love it. Need to make a batch for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2003
made this before deciding to give as gifts... I used tomato sauce instead of paste and cut down on the tomatoes, but I think the original 28oz diced tomatoes would've been better. Great recipe and presentation... I used the pasta sauce jars (as recommended by another reader) and a narrow measuring cup as containers. worked out perfect !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2003
This looks very pretty in the jars. I followed the tip of one of the reviewers and used 1/2 green and 1/2 red lentils - made a big difference in presentation. I made up a jar for my family and my pot wasn't quite big enough so only used 2 quarts of water.. turned out thick and rich.. yumm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Alberni, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2003
I just made three jars for gifts and they look great! As for the jar problem, Classico pasta sauce comes in 26 oz heavy mason jars.(Just soak off the label). They are almost square which shows off the mix beautifully, plus a regular mason lid, metal or plastic, fits perfectly. I use these jars for canning since they're so pretty and right between pint and quart size. I also put the pasta in small plastic bags and knotted them to prevent spilling when removing from the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
259 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2003
I wanted to try the recipe at home before giving it as Xmas gifts this year. My family thought it was excellent. Now that I want to give the soup mix as gifts, I'm having trouble located the 1-12 pint jars; all I am able to find are pint quart size jars? Any suggestions???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DSTEPE
Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2003
I gave this as a gift to co-workers last Christmas, and they all appreciated it -- especially since I gave it a week before Christmas, which is usually fast-food time for all of us on the go. Also, I went to Big Lot's and bought cheap but cute jars with air-tight lids to layer the soup mix in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CBARBUSCA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Chicken Noodle Soup

This classic chicken and noodle soup is simple and so satisfying.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States