Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
The flavor of this soup is great, but the split peas take much longer than everything else to cook. I suggest using another lentil instead. Make sure to add the macaroni at the end, as it takes very little cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This makes a pretty presentation for Christmas and is a nice alternative to sweet gifts. My husband particularly loves the soup and we eat it year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
This is great soup and cheap to make!! I will be making the soup jars as gifts for Christmas this year!! Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I made this up and gave it out in jars. It was very pretty and it tastes great. For my taste, I would decrease the barley and use tomato sauce in place of the tomatoes and paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
A wonderful comfort food for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This soup was so good! My three year old asked for seconds! I followed other reviewer's advice and added fresh minced garlic, 1/4 cup rice and a 14.5oz can of diced tomatoes. The leftovers were even tastier! I served this with parmesan cheese and crescent rolls. I will definitely make this again, and share it with friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Patrick Afb, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
My family loves this soup! I, too, add 1 tsp. of chili powder and add whatever small pasta I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I tried this recipe before giving it as Christmas gifts and both my husband and I agreed that it was yummy! It does make a lot so plan on freezing some or I just took it for lunch all week with some Italian bread. I followed other people's recommendations and used less rice, added chili powder, used tomato sauce instead of paste and included elbow macaroni. My mason jars were too big and I had to fill the extra room with tissue paper but they still turned out really cute! Thanks for this great recipe, I can't wait to give them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarie75

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This soup is excellent! It makes quite a bit, but no one in my house complained about eating it a few times! From the advice in all the other reviews, I used fresh minced garlic, 2-10 oz. cans of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chilis (instead of the 28 oz. can), 1-15 oz. can of tomato sauce (instead of the paste) and small star pasta. It was perfect. The ingredients provide lots of different textures, and it is not a heavy soup. Thanks Bea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
I wanted a healthy, good soup to give out in jars for this Christmas. This recipe had rave reviews, so I tried it before giftgiving. I thought that the soup was mediocre. It was a bit bland, and I will not be giving it away as gifts. Maybe I didn't like it because I am not a bean lover ... although I do like Chili. Thanks for the recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States