Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
I replaced the lentils with dry beans, which needed to be pre cooked, or replaced with canned beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynette Anstey Freake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2009
This was fabulous! I did take advice from others reviews and used less tomatoes, also used fresh garlic. My only other advice is to boil the beans first as they don't cook as quickly as the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I made these for Christmas gifts this year and from the people who have actually made the soup so far I get great compliments. I made a jar for us and it was wonderful. I used chopped up turkey sausage links and it was so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missy1979

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
This was awesome! We made about 15 of them for Christmas presents and got rave reviews from all our friends. One friend told me she made it with sausage instead of ground beef and it was delicious. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
I gave this a Christmas presents to family and coworkers. I didn't have time to test it myself ahead of time but went with it because the reviews are good and so far I have had several requests for the recipe. I did make the few small change that everyone else suggested (tomato sauce instead of pasted) and a smaller can of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
good, but way, way, WAY too much salt. The amount of bullion cubes was just too much for that amount of water. I counted about 15 for 12 cups of water. we needed to add a ton more water. I recommend eating in it one night as the pasta gets mushy quickly. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swimminash

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by love my kids
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This is a healthy, hearty soup. I am considering using brown rice next time, and possibly whole wheat pasta. We really enjoyed this soup. I also made cannisters of it with my daycare kids for Christmas gifts. They turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2009
I received this as a gift, and it was very tasty. It really thickened up and made a nice hearty soup. Next time I'll use the basic soup recipe and add some vegetables (cabbage, carrot.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fullerton, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2009
I can't rate this recipe based on flavor, so I'm rating it based on it's attractiveness as a gift. I couldn't find the 1-1/2 pint jars, so I used 1-pint jars, reduced the amount of rice by a tiny bit, and tied the baggie of pasta on the outside of the jar. It was a beautiful presentation and my gift recipients really liked the idea. I also mixed up baggies of Easy Beer Bread Mix (from this site) to give with the soup mix so they would have a complete meal ready to mix up. UPDATE (1/26/09) - My parents received one of these from me as a Christmas gift. They called last night to tell me they had made the soup and, to use my father's words, "It is fantastic! I ate two bowls and was sorry I was too full for a third!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keri

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antelope Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I took the risk of giving this soup as a gift before trying it myself...based on all the rave reviews I figured I could. I put on the recipe card to use one can tomato sauce and one can tomato chunks. I also used veggie broth instead of beef, and left out the rice, as rice and noodles seemed redundant. I doubled the pasta instead. Well, I finally made it myself, and it was really good! Not as good as fresh soup of course, but better than canned. And so easy! One thing: I got 1 liter (1 quart) jars, and they were too big. I had to stuff tissue paper in the top to make it all fit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Parjata

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States