Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
Every person I made this for at Christmas took the time to tell me how great is was later! I took the suggestions of others and used tomato sauce instead of paste. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dcshoffman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Union, Oregon, USA
Living In: Vancouver, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2011
This was really good. I made it for gifts and have had compliments from the receivers. I did have trouble finding regular barley so I used instant and it turned out fine. Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Excellent soup! I made this for neighbors for a Christmas gift, they loved it. Instead of using jars I used small cello bags tied with a red and green ribbon. Made the soup for my family and was surprised that my kids ate it. (I didn't tell them it was good for them.) After reading all the reviews I decided to use one can of petite diced tomatoes and instead of tomato paste I used sauce also I added a handful more of small shell pasta. Will make again!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I gave several jars of this soup mix to friends this Christmas. I packed it in Christmas-themed jars I bought at the dollar store and our local secondhand store. I was a little nervous because I didn't have time to taste-test the soup. Every single one of my friends has given me rave reviews! I highly recommend this recipe and wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BGRAY450

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winslow, Arizona, USA
Living In: Jackson, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
We found that cooking for 45 minutes plus the additional 15 left certain ingredients mushy. The split peas and lentils seemed to need more time to cook, but the pasta and barley were over cooked. We also added about 3 more bouillon cubes plus other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I'm rating the soup jars, not the soup since I didn't make it. It is very pretty in the jars. I ended up getting a mixture of regular lentils and orange lentils- and green spit peas and yellow split peas. It looked great. I made 10 of these for friends and they just loved it, one of my recipients said he used Italian sausage and people were licking the bowl! I made this with "Easy Beer Bread" mix from this site and was told they go perfect together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skoo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stettler, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I included this jar and recipe in my gift bags this year. The feedback I have received, is that the peas and lentils do not cook completely. Has anyone else ever experienced this problem? It does look incredible, but I would hope the recipe included, will result in something edible. I will provide a rating, based on the ease of preparing the jars, and the visual aspect. I do however, want to understand the instructions for preparation. If anyone has prepared this soup successfully, please let me know what we are doing wrong. Thank you in advance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
Only rating 4 stars, since I have only made the jars. Turned out super cute! Used green and yellow split peas and multi colored twist pasta. Also made the Easy Beer Bread Mix from this site to add. UPDATE: Made the soup and it was really good. Make sure you use a big pot (8 qt plus) and let the peas cook till really soft. Everyone loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Easy to make and very pretty. I added black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WeekendWarrior

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by princeslani
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
YUM!! i made these for christmas gifts. i thought i would try the recipe before i gave them away :) i made the soup last night and it was very tasty!! all of the ingredients are super cheap, so these make perfect gifts if you have several people to give to. i used clear treat bags instead of jars (bags are much cheaper). the only issue i had was that i couldnt find beef boullion granules so i just smashed up a bunch of the cubes. it takes 12 cubes per jar/bag (whatever). i followed the recipe exactly and i think this recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by princeslani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States