Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I thought this was absolutely delicious, I did add extra garlic (fresh) and next time will use a different pasta then i did this time, and try with chicken instead of burger, but super easy and inexpensive.Even my sometimes picky children asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kutztown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I thought this was very good. Followed the suggestions of others reduced the tomatos to 15 oz, and instead of tomato paste, substituted 15 oz. of tomato sauce. Also reduced beef bouillon to 3 TBS. I made 25 batches for Christmas gifts. Instead of using jars, I just used quart sized zip-lock bags, and a small sandwich bag for the pasta, that fit into the quart-sized bag with everything else. I also supplied the cans of diced tomatos tomato sauce, so all they needed to buy was 1# of ground beef. I put it all in a nice gift bag, with 2 packages of corn bread mix to make and serve with the soup. A complete meal gift (except for the beef!) My friends and family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
This is a great recipe! We've been eating it about once a week this winter. Instead of onion flakes, I just cook a diced onion with the ground beef, skip the boullion, and double the pasta. Who would have thought my family would ENJOY split peas and lentils? We always eat it with cornbread, and I include a cornbread mix when I give it as a gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2008
This recipe was great. I gave it to friends and my boss for Christmas gifts. Several asked for the ingredient list and others appreciated a healthier type of gift after so many sweets. I used the recommendations for jasmine rice and tomato sauce. I thought it could use some additional spices and vegetables but overall was pleased with the outcome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2007
I tried this recipe before making the gifts. I cut it in half for just the two of us. It still made enough for us for two meals. Really good! Amazing flavor. To make as gifts, I cut everything in half and put it in clear bags that I got at a party shop. Tied it up with pretty ribbon, attached the directions, and gave it as Christmas gifts. For very special people, I took one of your reader's advice and made a gift basket with a 14-1/2 oz. can of diced tomatoes, 8 oz. tomato sauce (I found this combination to work really well), a box of Jiffy cornbread mix, and a small loaf of cranberry bread. The only thing to add was 1/2 lb. ground beef. As I type this, I have a pot of Friendship soup simmering on the stove. It's a rainy, cold Sunday afternoon. Yum. Although I used this as Christmas gifts, it could be used so many times during the year -- especially when you have new neighbors. Suzanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Everyone we gave this to for Christmas loved it!! We will definitely make enough to keep on hand for those times when someone just needs a pick me up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pinedale, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2007
Fantastic idea for housewarming and hostess gifts. All my friends loved it. I substituted ground turkey for a little less calorie - 6 WW points for 8 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Morrisville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cblebrun
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2007
One of my favorite gifts to give at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
This is a great recipie, makes a wonderfull gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I made this soup prior to packaging it for gifts. We were not crazy about the ground beef so I suggested leftover chicken, turkey or beef as a substitute or leaving out the meat on my recipe card. It makes a huge pot of soup and is very hearty. I also substituted rainbow twist pasta rather than alphabet for extra color in the jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States