Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Great recipe for gifts. I cut the recipe in half for about 4 servings (much more manageable for smaller families). I also added a 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder and used Acini Di Pepe pasta instead of barley pearls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
I plan on giving this as Christmas gifts this year and tried it out tonight to see how we like it. DELICIOUS! As others suggested, I used 1 can of diced tomatoes and 1 can of tomato sauce. Otherwise, I made the recipe as written. I thought the rice and pasta worked well together and it had plenty of flavor. For myself, I may add crushed red pepper flakes and some frozen vegetables next time. For gifts, I'll make some with chicken granules. I plan on packing it in 1 qt. jars with the cans of tomatoes and sauce and a package of crackers. Put everything in a basket and add a ladle for the finishing touch. Thanks for a great recipe. I'm sure everyone will want a copy of it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
This was wonderful! I tried it with both beef and chicken, and while I prefer the chicken, my family prefered the beef. I just used left over chicken, and used the chicken bouillon. Very good. My one issue was when I rinsed the peas,lentils, and barly they did not dry well which caused my bouillon to absorb the moisture in the jar. It stuck to the bottom of the jar, so I had to add more when making the soup. Also I had to buy jars and the 2 pint size worked just fine, I upped the pasta to 2/3rds cup. This makes great gifts!!1 I also used a 15 oz can of tomato sauce, and a 15 oz can of diced tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2008
Haven't actually tried this myself but I made up a bunch of jars to go in my Christmas baskets. It looked really nice layered. SO PRETTY IN 1 QUART JARS! The only thing I did different was instead of adding boulion granules, I actually placed 5 cubes of boulion squares in a plastic bag just below the plastic bag of pasta. I couldn't find the granules so this is all that I could make work. I sure hope it tastes good and not justs look pretty!!! Once I try it myself I will update.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
Before giving as gifts this year, I made the soup myself and it was very good. After reading many of the reviews, I also used 2 cans of tomato sauce in place of the tomato paste and one can of diced tomatoes. I also used minced garlic with the ground beef instead of garlic powder. I didn't have any pearl barley and couldn't find any at my local store so I omitted it from the recipe and slightly increased the split peas and lentils and I really don't think it made that much of a difference. Also, my personal preference is pasta in soup and not rice and I thought having both was a bit much so I also omitted the rice and increased the pasta to 1 cup. I used ditalini pasta instead of the alphabet pasta. Overall it came out great and was very quick and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massapequa, New York, USA
Living In: Gray Court, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
We made this a couple of years ago for Christmas presents and they were a huge hit. Not only does the soup taste great, it looks really impressive when layered in glass jars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I gave this soup last year as gifts and it was a huge success! I had several extra jars that I saved for us, but whenever I went to the pantry to pull one out, I'd found my daughter had given them all away to friends who'd had the soup and wanted to make more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
I haven't made this recipe in a long time but remember that I loved it!(I have too many cookbooks and recipes so I forget what I have until I come upon it) Will be making again very soon now that I found again! I gave as gifts to teachers and family and also made a batch for my family. Only changes~layer bouillon granules first on bottom of jar when giving as a gift. I used 1 pint of home canned tomatoes and 1 (15 oz.) can tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simplesue

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I thought this was absolutely delicious, I did add extra garlic (fresh) and next time will use a different pasta then i did this time, and try with chicken instead of burger, but super easy and inexpensive.Even my sometimes picky children asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kutztown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I thought this was very good. Followed the suggestions of others reduced the tomatos to 15 oz, and instead of tomato paste, substituted 15 oz. of tomato sauce. Also reduced beef bouillon to 3 TBS. I made 25 batches for Christmas gifts. Instead of using jars, I just used quart sized zip-lock bags, and a small sandwich bag for the pasta, that fit into the quart-sized bag with everything else. I also supplied the cans of diced tomatos tomato sauce, so all they needed to buy was 1# of ground beef. I put it all in a nice gift bag, with 2 packages of corn bread mix to make and serve with the soup. A complete meal gift (except for the beef!) My friends and family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States