Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by 612jasonw
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
This is my first time ever writing a review. I love this soup. Just got done making 6 jars for Christmas gifts and made a pot for dinner. It was delicious. I've never had a soup with hamburger in it. I was a little skeptical but it is yummy! Mine fit nicely in quart size jars. I added 1/2 cup split dried yellow peas and the jar filled perfectly and added another splash of color. Don't hesitate to make these as gifts! Great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2010
all I can say is yummy!. I forgot to add the tomato paste, but it made a nice light brothy soup without it. I will be giving this out as gifts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by singlemomcooking

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rock Falls, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
So good! I made this to see if I wanted to do it for gifts and it's a go! My husband even liked it and he is not a soup guy. I made it with "Buttery Corn Bread." I used 1 15 oz can of diced tomatoes and 1 15 oz can of tomato sauce. I also used stew meat instead of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by free_by_grace

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Webb City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lubbock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
Made these jars up for Christmas gifts. Everyone has raved about how great this soup is... I make it up often for gifts now-- especially for my "uncle in law" that has cancer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
This is a super tasty soup recipe that makes a ton and freezes well. Instead of using a jar I used plastic goodie bags and they worked just as well, the contents shifted a little bit but they still looked pretty and it was much cheaper than buying a bunch of jars. Just a suggestion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hillary625

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2010
Beautiful presentation, but I thought the soup was really lacking something. It just wasn't rich enough for me. If I made it again, I would add something, although I'm not sure what.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jkcooks

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2010
Yum! I recieved this as a gift & it was delicious-- I did use tomato paste, I just made sure it was really well blended with the beef before adding water. The house smelled delicious & the soup was perfect for a chilly winter day! I will definitely make this for others as a gift... it's great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebekah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2010
I gave this as gifts at Christmas and everyone that I've heard back from loved it! Made it myself and also changed the tomato paste to 2 cans and 1 can of tomatoes. I also used 1 and 1/2 pounds of hamburger and added chili powder and the end just enough to cover the top of the soup. I couldn't find alphabet pasta but did find mini stars which worked out just fine. It was easy to put together. Will make again! Great job fellow Hoosier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2009
I made some of these for Christmas gifts this year but decided I'd better try it first. Made as is but added some veggies. My family is not big on soup but they loved it..fabulous soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 5boys2cook4
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2009
I gave this 4 stars because I think it's too salty. I think 1/4 of bouillon is perfect. I used clear treat bags instead of jars to save money. This makes a great christmas gift if you're trying to avoid all the sweets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 5boys2cook4

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ogden, Utah, USA
Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States