Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
YUMMY!!! Not only is this soup tasty, but it's easy to make as well. Plus, everything was right on the mark. It was seasoned just right, the cooking time was perfect (which surprised me, I thought the lentils and peas would still be slightly undercooked). It was also a beautiful, and very inexpensive, gift (thanks to the person who suggested recycling Classico spaghetti jars-- just the right size, and a classier look than Kern jars-- just bought new lids. (I gave this jar of soup along with a Pampered Chef jar opener for teacher gift, so they got one thing to enjoy, and one to last -- both made at least one night in the kitchen easier) Our family enjoyed this soup for all it offered. Sincere thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Diamond Bar, California, USA
Living In: Gardnerville, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This soup was so good! I substituted ground turkey instead of beef and used one can of tomatoes. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This soup is delicious! I will definitely make these as christmas gifts! I made a few changes to the recipe: Used 1x14.5oz can chopped tomatoes (like others suggested), used 1/4 cup onion soup mix instead of onion flakes, substituted garlic salt instead of garlic powder, and used bite size flank steak/chopped steak instead of ground beef. No added salt or seasoning needed once all done! Great fast and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
The flavor of this soup is great, but the split peas take much longer than everything else to cook. I suggest using another lentil instead. Make sure to add the macaroni at the end, as it takes very little cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This makes a pretty presentation for Christmas and is a nice alternative to sweet gifts. My husband particularly loves the soup and we eat it year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
This is great soup and cheap to make!! I will be making the soup jars as gifts for Christmas this year!! Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I made this up and gave it out in jars. It was very pretty and it tastes great. For my taste, I would decrease the barley and use tomato sauce in place of the tomatoes and paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
A wonderful comfort food for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This soup was so good! My three year old asked for seconds! I followed other reviewer's advice and added fresh minced garlic, 1/4 cup rice and a 14.5oz can of diced tomatoes. The leftovers were even tastier! I served this with parmesan cheese and crescent rolls. I will definitely make this again, and share it with friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Patrick Afb, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
My family loves this soup! I, too, add 1 tsp. of chili powder and add whatever small pasta I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States