Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This soup is delicious! I will definitely make these as christmas gifts! I made a few changes to the recipe: Used 1x14.5oz can chopped tomatoes (like others suggested), used 1/4 cup onion soup mix instead of onion flakes, substituted garlic salt instead of garlic powder, and used bite size flank steak/chopped steak instead of ground beef. No added salt or seasoning needed once all done! Great fast and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
The flavor of this soup is great, but the split peas take much longer than everything else to cook. I suggest using another lentil instead. Make sure to add the macaroni at the end, as it takes very little cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
This makes a pretty presentation for Christmas and is a nice alternative to sweet gifts. My husband particularly loves the soup and we eat it year round.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2006
This is great soup and cheap to make!! I will be making the soup jars as gifts for Christmas this year!! Thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I made this up and gave it out in jars. It was very pretty and it tastes great. For my taste, I would decrease the barley and use tomato sauce in place of the tomatoes and paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chinook, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
A wonderful comfort food for a cold winter day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
This soup was so good! My three year old asked for seconds! I followed other reviewer's advice and added fresh minced garlic, 1/4 cup rice and a 14.5oz can of diced tomatoes. The leftovers were even tastier! I served this with parmesan cheese and crescent rolls. I will definitely make this again, and share it with friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hemet, California, USA
Living In: Patrick Afb, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
My family loves this soup! I, too, add 1 tsp. of chili powder and add whatever small pasta I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
I tried this recipe before giving it as Christmas gifts and both my husband and I agreed that it was yummy! It does make a lot so plan on freezing some or I just took it for lunch all week with some Italian bread. I followed other people's recommendations and used less rice, added chili powder, used tomato sauce instead of paste and included elbow macaroni. My mason jars were too big and I had to fill the extra room with tissue paper but they still turned out really cute! Thanks for this great recipe, I can't wait to give them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emarie75

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2005
This soup is excellent! It makes quite a bit, but no one in my house complained about eating it a few times! From the advice in all the other reviews, I used fresh minced garlic, 2-10 oz. cans of Rotel diced tomatoes with green chilis (instead of the 28 oz. can), 1-15 oz. can of tomato sauce (instead of the paste) and small star pasta. It was perfect. The ingredients provide lots of different textures, and it is not a heavy soup. Thanks Bea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendora, California, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States