Friendship Soup Mix in a Jar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
Tastes ok, but too thick, salty and pasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2014
I put this soup mix together and gave it as Christmas gifts. I have had rave reviews from people who made it. I made it and thought it was a bit salty (I'm a bit sensitive to salt in food) but the rest of the family couldn't get enough of it. The recipe makes ALOT as written, so it is best to give as a gift to a family, not a single or couple. Unles, the single or couple have a bunch of hungry friends. I have a family of four, two of us love soup and had leftovers for a few days but there was still quite a bit left over after 4 days. Well, the pasta turned to mush and I sent about two servings through the garbage disposer. SO, if you plan on making this or giving it, be aware that the pasta does not hold up well. Other than that, awesome soup!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Duarte, California, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
We loved this! Family members raved about the presentation of this as gifts, and we just made our first pot at home, and it was easy and delicious! We made exactly as written, except using a 14.5 ounce can of tomatoes instead of 28.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dahlonega, Georgia, USA
Living In: Notasulga, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Made this for Christmas gifts and everyone thoroughly enjoyed it. I did add a soup ladle with the jar and the canned tomatoes. I used diced tomatoes and tomato sauce as other reviewers recommended. I saved one jar for us and it is very delicious, makes a lot! Thanks for sharing, Bea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA
Living In: Delmar, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
Lovely gift, excellent soup, inexpensive, and easy to prepare. I just bought more of everything to make additional jars. I did use tomato sauce instead of the paste and dilatini pasta because I couldn't find the alphabet pasta. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
This soup was so good. I did not use the tomato paste, instead I used 1-15oz can of tomato sauce and 1-14.5oz of diced tomatoes w/basil, garlic, and oregano. I also used bow-tie pasta, which I doubled. This made a really big pot of soup. I will be giving these out for Christmas and stocking my pantry. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnksimmons
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
My daughter made this as Christmas gifts and they were really good. We packaged them in canning jars, as they were more affordable than the type of jar shown in the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
I received a jar of this from a friend at Christmas. I used ground Italian sausage instead of the ground beef!! Yummmmmmmm!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This is delicious but makes so much. Can you freeze it?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
WOW! Super good and easy. Everyone loved it and I will definitely make this again and again!! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Black Lentil Soup

Black lentils, bacon, and aromatic veggies make a deeply delicious soup.

Split Pea and Ham Soup I

This delicious split pea soup takes only a few minutes to prepare.

Easy Vegetable Beef Soup

See how to make a super-simple soup with veggies and ground beef.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States