Friendship Fruit Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 14, 2007
I made this and the glass jar exploded sending little shards of glass every where in my kitchen even into the refrigerator and ceiling. DO NOT PUT A LID ON THE JAR, cover with a dish towel or something light.UPDATE : The glass jar is the problem, use a crock like you would for pickles or sauerkraut. It needs to be sealed for the fermenting process but not with a glass jar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
97 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
I had gotten a liquid starter 20 years ago, and did not have the fruit starter to start making the cakes again, then I found this recipe and it is just what I wanted and it turned out great. I had enough fruit to make three cakes, and enough juice to start all over again. Only this time I will have enough starters to give to friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mckeesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2006
This awesome! My mom was given a starter in the 70's and made this cake for years. Sadly, she passed away in 99 and I let my ONLY starter go bad after a few years in the fridge...I'm so thrilled to find this recipe and the fond memories of my mom it brings back. Mike
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2006
THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU! My grandma used to make this when we were kids and we loved it. The recipe died with her 12 years ago and I recently have been trying to find it. I am so excited to have found it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Thank you so much. This is the only recipe for a fruitcake that my husband would eat. His aunt has given me the recipe and a starter. I allowed my starter to deplete and Aunt Debra as well as my husband have passed on. I was so excited to be able to revive this wonderful cake recipe that brings back wonderful memories of my husband and his aunt. ps. this cake freezes well too. thanks a bunch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2005
Emily, thank you so much!! I've made this starter and cake about 15 years ago. Someone at my job brought the starter in and we all began making the 30 day cake. I placed the starter in the freezer for later and forgot about it. When I moved I ended up throwing it away. Recently I began thinking about the cake, but I couldn't remember the name of it, and I didn't have the starter. One day I went to Allrecipes, and put cake starter in the search, and up popped your cake starter. Thank you soooo much. I'm starting the starter this weekend, and my cake 21 days after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-16 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Fruit Pizza II

This delicious "pizza" makes an impressive dessert or brunch centerpiece.

Fruit Pizza I

Turn summer’s fresh fruit into a delicious sweet dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States