Friendship Fruit Starter Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
Pour over whole ham w/openings cut in it & bake...Oh my goodness....THE BEST!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2014
Well my sister and I used to make this cake around the holidays. We both thought lets try looking online for the starter recipe ,we still had the cake recipe but not the starter which is the most important thing about this cake. Well I am on day two and very excited to finish it will keep you all posted,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Used this recipe and loved it. My personal recipe is for adults only...I got my starter jar from a person in Newfoundland and made cupcakes with it. Two cupcakes and you weren't legal to drive. What a hit they were. I continue to add to the original formula and have shared it a few times. The fruit is REALLY enjoyed all by itself too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat's Cakes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
Great except I didn't have the stated amount of liquid, even after pressing the fruit, but just added a little water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
This has been something I used to love doing with my grandma and hope to pass this down to my girls to start their own family traditions one day. I also hope to bring my friends closet by making and sharing this with my wonderful neighbors. We are going to pass around the starter for the cake as well as the bread!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
I have been looking for this recipe for YEARS!!! In the '80s my grandmother and her circle of friends had these cakes going around and I loved it! She passed in 1998 and even though she gave me her recipe box before she died, there was nowhere to be found a recipe for the starter! I remembered more or less what it had but I couldn't remember how it worked or when you were to add what...THANK YOU SO MUCH for posting this recipe as I can FINALLY make these cakes for a whole new generation and culture!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Staceylyn

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Very good recipe for the starter. My husbands grandmother from Louisiana made this every Christmas and he has been craving it. I was concerned that it only marinated for 3 weeks, but it turned out great! The brandy flavor is excellent! I went ahead and made a cake from the starter fruit and the cake wasn't as moist as the 30-day version, at first. But, as it sat for a day or two it became more moist & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2009
I make this every year at thanksgiving, and again at christmas. Here's a tip, If you don't want to make so many cakes, the fruit started is delishious on vanilla ice cream. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!! In the 80's my family ALWAYS had a friendship cake on their counter, . . I loved to help with this as a kid. I haven't seen one of these in YEARS, and was so glad to have found this, . . I made a TON of these for Christmas gifts this past Christmas (a bit behind on my ratings). Everyone was SHOCKED! It was very nice to find this recipe. Thank you so much! We are no longer friendship-cake-less!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLR1331

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockaway, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
Got my starter made and needed to do something with my fruit. I took a cake mix...I had french vanilla on hand and added 3 eggs, 3/4 oil & about 3/4 cup water and two cups fruit starter fruit chopped up. Made cupcakes and baked for 25 minutes at 350. Turned out great. Have my starter going for my 30 day cake now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sparkysarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Sheridan, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

PHILADELPHIA 'Fruit Smoothie' Cheesecake

See how to make a scrumptious, berry-filled, no-bake cheesecake.

Fruit Pizza II

This delicious "pizza" makes an impressive dessert or brunch centerpiece.

Fruit Pizza I

Turn summer’s fresh fruit into a delicious sweet dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States