Fried Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This needs an egg wash to adhere the crumb mixture to the zucchini. I sit up three dishes side-by-side. Cornstarch-egg wash-crumb mixture. I use Italian bread crumbs and crushed saltines instead of cornmeal. Rather than use flour to dip the zucchini in prior to breading, use corn starch and shake off the excess prior to dipping in the egg wash. The egg will stick to the cornstarch and there is no aftertaste when cooked. These are also delicious with a ranch dressing. If you want to avoid the cooking odor from the frying in your house, use a cast iron skillet on the side burner of the BBQ outside. Prepare all of the zucchini and move the cooking outside. Takes just a few min and you are done since the side burners are usually larger than the stove burners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
There was no batter ever formed. The powdered mixture remained a dry powdered mixture. I don't understand what could have possibly turned the dry powder to a batter to begin with. I couldn't even fry it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rinda Maddox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
are you all kidding =this recipe didn't work ....sticky mess ,wasted a perfectly good zucchini ,half veggies didn't coat , ridiculous.....keeping dry ingredients separate ,and , doing it the other wy ,way better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is the best. Tried other recipes. Tried just flour or just cornmeal dip in egg first but this is the one. Just a hint of garlic. Definitely let sit a bit before frying. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perryville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Crystal City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jasmine
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I did this two ways: directly following the instructions and then by taking the zucchini putting it in the flour mix, then dip into a beaten egg, and back into the flour mix before putting it in the pan. Both were a great success! My boyfriend seemed to enjoy the simple version better but I enjoyed the 'egg' version myself. All in all great recipe! *pic is of the 'egg' version*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I loved that coating wasn't too thick. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made this last week. My husband and I loved it! I did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
This was so much easier ( and less messy) than dipping in egg first. It turned out just right. This is how I'll fry zucchini from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brocton, New York, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I am astounded at how simple this method is, and how wonderfully the end result was! I can honestly only rate the method, because I used 1 cup of Zatarain's frying mix instead of the dry ingredients. The zucchini and onions came out crispy and stayed crispy. For those who ended up with soggy results, here are a couple of tips. Keep shaking that bowl of zucchini while the 30 minutes passes. I also shook it between batches, and I waited longer than 30 minutes. Second, make sure your oil temperature stays right around 350. I will use this method from now on! Thanks for the recipe, Jon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
needed more salt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Home Town: Meadville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Best Fried Green Tomatoes

See how to make traditional Southern-style fried green tomatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States