Fried Zucchini Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Not a fan of this recipe at all. Although it did make it's own batter, it didn't stick to the zucchini very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Loved this! Just a light coating. Came out crispy and delicious. Wish I would've used two onions. Used two small zucchini and a yellow squash, too. Kind of cored the yellow one and had 'squash rings'. Sprinkled some Seasonall on after I took them out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Soldotna, Alaska, USA
Living In: Oronogo, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Although it didn't really look like the picture (at all) this was a nice fried zucchini recipe. It wasn't what I was expecting - there isn't really a "batter" that happens. However, once I played around with it a little it worked pretty well. The zucchini inside is nice and moist and the outside just crispy enough without feeling really greasy. A couple of tips - definitely let it sit for at LEAST half an hour. I tossed and mixed it around with my fingers a few times during that too. Then as you're taking the zucchini pieces out, dredge them in the loose powder at the bottom. The moistness of the zucchini will cling to the powder and you'll get better coating that way. I ran out of time and couldn't make them all so I stuck it in the fridge. It was there for two days and then I made the rest and they came out just as well, if not better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2014
This needs an egg wash to adhere the crumb mixture to the zucchini. I sit up three dishes side-by-side. Cornstarch-egg wash-crumb mixture. I use Italian bread crumbs and crushed saltines instead of cornmeal. Rather than use flour to dip the zucchini in prior to breading, use corn starch and shake off the excess prior to dipping in the egg wash. The egg will stick to the cornstarch and there is no aftertaste when cooked. These are also delicious with a ranch dressing. If you want to avoid the cooking odor from the frying in your house, use a cast iron skillet on the side burner of the BBQ outside. Prepare all of the zucchini and move the cooking outside. Takes just a few min and you are done since the side burners are usually larger than the stove burners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2014
There was no batter ever formed. The powdered mixture remained a dry powdered mixture. I don't understand what could have possibly turned the dry powder to a batter to begin with. I couldn't even fry it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rinda Maddox

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2014
sticky mess ,half veggies didn't coat
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This is the best. Tried other recipes. Tried just flour or just cornmeal dip in egg first but this is the one. Just a hint of garlic. Definitely let sit a bit before frying. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perryville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Crystal City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jasmine
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
I did this two ways: directly following the instructions and then by taking the zucchini putting it in the flour mix, then dip into a beaten egg, and back into the flour mix before putting it in the pan. Both were a great success! My boyfriend seemed to enjoy the simple version better but I enjoyed the 'egg' version myself. All in all great recipe! *pic is of the 'egg' version*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
I loved that coating wasn't too thick. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
I made this last week. My husband and I loved it! I did not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States