Fried Tempeh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2012
I tired this. I'd say if you don't like tempeh then no recipe can help it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
If you steam the tempeh for 10 min. prior to marinating, it's less bitter, and absorbs the marinade better. Added a bit of sri racha and chili garlic sauce to the marinade, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvagreyhound

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
I tried exactly as recipe called for and did not like. Had a funny aftertaste, though from reading up about tempeh that might be because I used store bought packaged tempeh instead of fresh made. The more fried it was, the better. Tasted fine while eating, kind of like hash-browns. The after taste scares me off though. I'm guessing it's better if the tempeh is fresh made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
This was my first time trying tempeh and my first time making tempeh. I'm not a fan. I simply did not enjoy the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jesses_girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This is (in my humble opinion) the best way to prepare tempeh. I do this whevever I make an easy stir fry with tons of veggies. Add in some crushed red pepper for those who like it spicy and its a great meal even the pickiest meat-eater will love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I thought this was pretty good, but the flavor really reminded me of fish sticks. If I could figure out what spice to use to highlight that idea I think they would make an excellent fish sandwich. Followed the recipe exactly, other than I used some oregano to have the pieces with an alfredo dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I added, 1/2 tsp ground coriander to make it even chunchier, my Indonesian family recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2007
Pretty good. I like it with marinara sauce best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
instead of salt, you may try the Chicken Maggy Block.. It will make tempeh more crispy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVIRE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lombok Island, Nusa Tenggara Barat, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
it was good, but a tiny bit bland. really super-easy to alter though...add whatever spices you like and it would probably work out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by satyagraha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Vegan Shepherd's Pie

Convert a comfort food classic into a tasty meal that's totally vegan.

Harvest Vegan Nut Roast

See how to make a hearty vegan main dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States