Fried Tempeh Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2004
I used this recipe for an assessment task for school, and it worked amazingly... it tasted great, and looked even better... in the marinade, some sweet chilli sauce wouldn't go amiss however :) i added that to mine for flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
This was the first time I had tried/cooked tempeh, and this was a very pleasant surprise. This recipe is simple and delicious. I cut the tempeh into one inch squares and fried them on all sides. The result was "tempeh tots!" We dipped them in soy sauce, ketchup, and marinara. Great recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2009
This is (in my humble opinion) the best way to prepare tempeh. I do this whevever I make an easy stir fry with tons of veggies. Add in some crushed red pepper for those who like it spicy and its a great meal even the pickiest meat-eater will love!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2011
If you steam the tempeh for 10 min. prior to marinating, it's less bitter, and absorbs the marinade better. Added a bit of sri racha and chili garlic sauce to the marinade, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvagreyhound

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
This is a good basic way to make tempeh if you're going to add it to something else. After cooking the tempeh, I added green and orange bell peppers, zucchini, baby bellas and sweet onions that had been marinating in olive oil, balsamic vinegar and some herbs and served it over rice. I agree with others who suggested adding soy sauce or spices. It would also be good with balsamic vinegar added to the marinade. The possibilities are endless with this basic recipe. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
I thought this was pretty good, but the flavor really reminded me of fish sticks. If I could figure out what spice to use to highlight that idea I think they would make an excellent fish sandwich. Followed the recipe exactly, other than I used some oregano to have the pieces with an alfredo dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
instead of salt, you may try the Chicken Maggy Block.. It will make tempeh more crispy and tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LVIRE

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lombok Island, Nusa Tenggara Barat, Indonesia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2001
Try adding some soy sauce to the marinade... yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2006
it was good, but a tiny bit bland. really super-easy to alter though...add whatever spices you like and it would probably work out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by satyagraha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I added, 1/2 tsp ground coriander to make it even chunchier, my Indonesian family recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Fried Eggplant

See a quick-and-easy way to make perfect fried eggplant.

Kelli's Fried Green Zucchini

A re-imagined version of fried green tomatoes using zucchini.

RITZ Country Fried Ribs with Ranch Dressing

See how to make the famous fried ribs created by Dinosaur Bar-B-Que.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States